Day 40: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: pasta : Smells like HomesteemCreated with Sketch.

I am amazed that this has been going on for the past 40 days. Incredible!

If you wish to be part of this movement follow @mariannewest and for more information click on this link below

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-40-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pasta

I was strong enough today to sit up and have my first solid food. I have been in and out of consciousness for over a week. The nurse brought me pasta from the hospital cafeteria. As expected it was bland with no hint of salt or flavor.

I was playing with my food when I remember cooking pasta for her. She was the type of girl that could survive on pasta dishes everyday. I remember she would pop in my house and demand I cook for her.

I have been accustomed in eating alone before that my first pasta dish was a bit dry and bland just like what I am eating now. Yet she wolfed it down with gusto and exclaimed that I am the best chef in the world and my reward was a kiss. From that moment on I would cook her pasta whenever she dropped by.

I scoured the internet for recipes and distinct flavors. I tried to be as creative as possible. I would grind my own pine nuts and add olive oil and basil to make my own pesto sauce. I would use a mortar and pestle instead of a food processor because it made it more special for me. Each ingredient lovingly selected and prepared by hand.

She would finish two platefuls as always and say she is full of pasta and love. Yet she always had room for dessert. She would beam that sunshine smile and all the effort of cooking for her would be worth it.

I can almost smell the pesto....

20170928_122315.jpg

Sort:  

That is a great story!! Thanks for sharing. I could eat pasta every day!

Me too! I love pasta and it's so easy to make. I love making my own sauces and just jar them and they are good for a few servings.
Although it is best for sharing 😁

Perfect! I wanna this free writing challenge friend.

I have been doing this for almost a week now and enjoy it!

You should you are a great writer!

Awww..Pesto. My fave :)

Yeah me too, I love cooking.

You sound like a wonderful cook! How nice of you to take such care to cook for her.

Well I do try :) My secret ingredient is love :)

You tapped into food bringing up memories so well. Can't wait to see it all put together into one story.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-41-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-the-goat-ate-my

In a way fiction follows real life and life follows fiction

this is a very interesting prompt haha

PESTO! fave ko yan! :)

I love cooking it as well 😁

Wow sir may hidden talent ka pala heheh dapat mag post kayo about your cooking :) and sana wen we meet in person matikman ko yan heheheh

Hahaa sana nga i enjoy cooking for people

I like your writing, and I like your pesto, you did it like an Italian would do it!

Hahaha thanks! I'll take that as a compliment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34