A Steemit Tutorial about Taking it Back to the Whiteboard - a 5 Minute Diatribe Gone Long

in #freewrite6 years ago

PicsArt_03-19-04.21.16.png

There's a super long preamble before the tutorial. Feel free to scroll. I cover a bit of my back story and the benefits of participating in challenges and contests to gain or regain your footing.

Take it to the whiteboard. It's what my husband and I do to plot a plan.
Take it back to the whiteboard is what we do when we hit the quandary in the plan.

Taking it back to the whiteboard is largely what this week has been about for me with my 5 Minute Freewrites.
I've gone through spells before where my words don't want to escape from my fingertips and into blog posts. Since mid-October it's been wave upon wave of things that make me go quiet in the public sector.

I find it amusing that these same things can drive others to write more. And then not amusing that they make me write less.

I'm not in the mood to set a timer today.

I'm just going to be fine with talking a little bit.

I'm tired. Part is a very good tired. Part is because, away from here, I carefully talk with young people who are asking very hard questions about life and facing truths they don't want to face. I always know we're making grand progress and I start to breathe when they open the conversation and they say, "Look at this Red Flag in my actions that I found today! This has got to change. I've been thinking I should probably do ... "

OMG, when that happens, it makes my heart sing. I can't even begin to tell you. What a difference from, "There's no point! I can't win!"

I will pour all my everything into conversations that bring these kinds of results. And this week, it has happened with both of the girls I currently talk with. Cloud Nine. Tired lol.

On the flipside there's people I only choose to confound because, pointless. It would be the whole casting pearls before swine thing and they know how to prove me right every time. That's way disappointing ... that "proven right" thing is way over-rated.

The other part is health stuff. I've mentioned that before. Just wearing me down stuff. I can't imagine an ongoing chronic ... oh wait that fall in Starbucks that they still owe me 10K for .... happened over a year ago ... still has this nagging thing in my ear .... and shoulder ... and that specific headache is back. Okay fine. I can imagine a chronic illness. Honest? Did I really need to realize that? Meh.

And then there's all this political intrigue around Q. It's fascinating to watch it all - because history, because wild ideas, because sensible, because O.o .... but after a point it's still time to clean the kitchen and do the laundry and ... this brings me back to ...

So. How do I take Steemit back to the whiteboard?

Well, first comes discipline. And that's where the challenges come in.

I use to blog some 12 years ago. I witnessed the first meme that was born and sold. Thursday Thirteen. The goal was to present a collection of 13 anythings. I did everything from 13 add-ons for Firefox to 13 photos from Grand Central. Yeah. I've not changed one whit.

Back then a meme was not words on a photo. I was missing for that morph ... so I dunno. Anyway. Thursday Thirteen would now be called a challenge on Steemit.

As an aside, Thursday Thirteen, as I understand it, was Trade Marked and the trade mark, the idea, the platform, and the community list was sold.

So let me tell you what I learned/gained from Thursday Thirteen.

  1. I gained my best friends through the challenge because
  2. Challenges that encourage participants to visit each other become communities
  3. Communities keep people blogging.
  4. Blogging around challenges allow people to slowly reveal their crafts, their world, themselves.
  5. The more people participate in communities, the more bold they become.
  6. The more people become bold in communities, the stronger they become in the world.

So this is why I believe in challenges. This is why I specifically believe in the community that @mariannewest has carefully crafted around the Five Minute Freewrite and @freewritehouse. That is why I've been doing the Freewrites this week. To regain discipline. To refined the memory in my muscles that once knew how to write a blog post. (It might be working.)

I am also super enjoying #fractalfriday that @woodywood143 has started recently. It is fun to watch people increase their skills and share tips. Fractals are an art from that start out simple enough to produce and then ... you learn to tweak. Then you learn that tweaking can lead to endless fascination w/o production. At some point, you have to let the fractal into the world. FractalFriday is a fabulous opportunity for that.

Now, Next week I will continue to do the 5 Min Freewrites exactly because they are developing my discipline and reminding me I love this. Next week I'll kick it up a level though. Next week is about this simple fact: If you don't leave comments, people don't know who you are. If people don't know who you are, they don't come visit you. Feeds and notifications always play second fiddle to comments. Simple fact.

How Steemit will Fail - Warning

And let's talk about this one more little thing ... at the end of my 5 Minute Diatribe Gone Long ...
There is a growing thing in the Steemit community to judge small steps as "elementary and juvenile." There is a growing disdain for people who can and do churn out art like it's candy on Easter morning. There's a growing disdain for people who shyly share less than 1000 words about themselves per post. This behavior ... especially among the whales and the dolphins ... is egotistical bull shit. On minnows it looks like weighty caked on muck.

It is soul and community destroying. The platform that can show up and truly embrace free speech and no speech, is the platform that will win. We the little people are tired of getting beat up in order to gain 12 pennies. And we the people that are going through life stuff that steals words ... we're especially tired of it. We tend to have weaponized walking sticks.

Oh look, I'm a mere sixty words from writing a 1000 word post. How ironical.

The Encouraging and Practical Tutorial for Challenges for New (or Tired) Steemians.

If you're new to Steemit or thinking about being new to Steemit, the thought police do live here, too. But things will change or things will change so come be part of the change.

Do join in as many challenges as you want to. They are fabulous practice for your arts and skills ... just, you know ... do be you with your own arts!

When you join a challenge, no one will know you exist unless you find the origination of the challenge (peeps remember to point at the origination point) and share your link. AND/OR you can follow the challenge tag.

Then to gain friends, go visit the people who have also participated in the challenge. Don't show up on the doorstep to their blog saying, "Hi. I'm me. You need to come give me a gift at my blog." For real!! I know you wouldn't do that. I know you will show up and talk to them about their entry into the challenge and share any additional thoughts that their work causes you to recall.

If the egotistical thought police show up, let them dangle from your blog post like the fringe they are. If you reply, it just moves their comments upwards. (If you have reputation and are visiting a blog, remember it's better to make your own comment than comment in reply to negativity.)

If the egotistical thought police down-vote you, they immediately envoke the Streisand Effect. Also, leave a note on blog of the challenge origination point that you were downvoted for posting your own work.

Oh. In case you didn't know, today's prompt is Whiteboard. ;-)

Sort:  

Wise Words indeed!

Yes, we all need to remember that this blog platform is as much a personal blog as it is a community blog space with talking and sharing being a couple of the most important things that we can participate in.

As far as my offerings, being an artist and a new-tech enthusiast, I enjoy helping others to understand the processes which go into creating new Original Content that they can post on their blog.

I see way too many people, new and seasoned Steemians, posting things that you would expect from users of a crap platform like, say... FarceBook! Things like Memes that were being shared back in the late 90's or tired old photos from what someone had for dinner last night, simply because they refused to use that awesome quality that We All possess, Imagination!

I would love nothing more than to be able to spend hours and hours doing art for posts on Steemit, but instead, I have been dealt some cards that are less than a Full House, more like a pair of twos, but what I do have is the ability to create art with my PC and my mobile devices, so for me, this works out ok.
When I do have a "good" day, I can get several pieces of art completed and maybe even create some helpful instructions to pass on what I've learned about the software I use to do that with.

We have the opportunity here to build the kind of community that people around the world are looking to find! We must do the work needed to create that, it's not up to someone else.
Being what you desire is the first step in having what you desire!
I am grateful for having the opportunity to do this and I do it happily!
Thank you my friend 😉.
IMG_20180302_235038~2.jpg

Absolutely fabulous fractal! Very funny! Can I share this with a Discord group where Dr. Corsi does "decoding of Q"? If so, do you wanna put your name on it?

Community thoughts tomorrow when I'm alert :-)

Glad you like it Marillaanne, of course you can share it, that's why I make them. I've been dropping them around the net!

I just saw a video from American Intelligence Media and they are trying to get people to believe that Q is a hoax.
My question would be "Why would so many people be trying to stop those posts and debunk something that's a hoax?"
The truth always comes to light eventually and the truth of Q, will be illuminated too.
Here's the so-called experts and their explanation of what/who is Q. - https:// youtu.be/cbSWZV3muVg
I put a space after the // above so the video didn't show here.

I'm just kind of holding it all very loosely and watching it unravel. One thing is for absolute truth: Everybody is about to go off the skids. Here's the other doofus thing, the main stream media can't even talk about more than 3 things while there's so so so so much spinning crazily.

My favorite researcher is Tracy Beanz. My favorite wing'n it off the top of his head because he's seen so much is Jerome Corsi - definitely a character.

Then there's four that I try to keep up with for amusement sake because they can sound so sane (ok it all sounds insane these days) and logical re politics and then walk me right off the deep end.
@stefan.molyneux (His theme is basically: evolution and IQ will save us but could we settle for some logic?),
Lionel Nation (He's a lawyer / retired from radio / who knows what else. Unless you are bored silly OR if his wife sits in, skip his live streams. They wander!), @styxhexenhammer (basically a pagan conservative, sort of, his political analysis is fun),
and @jaysather (big believer in aliens and O.o I get lost).

The discord servers served up some interesting reading yesterday. Find me in Discord if you want a link. Provided I can make a link to the servers. I dunno.

Ok. I've fallen asleep sitting up 3, 4 5 times now. ttyl

Lol, I hope you weren't droolin' too while Fallon's asleep!
It looks like we are looking at the same people mostly, I have been watching Stefan's podcasts for a couple of years, great guy!
I also pop in to see Lionel occasionally, he is a character! I made some graphics for him too.
Tracey is ok mostly, but can go down trails that are less productive. But we all do!
Can't spend time in the chats, no time.
Glad that we have a big, growing community though! I think we are seeing the demise of the big corporations, not just the news.
There's so much truth backed with proof coming out daily that it will end a lot of evil that's been having such a negative effect on everything over the past century or longer.

Glad we are on the same page my friend!

If you are participating in any challenge whatsoever, please leave a link you your latest and promote the challenge.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

I enjoyed your disquisition and I agree about the misbehaviour of some whales here on steemit. It's discouraging but we've to join together and use the strenght of the crowd . Are the freewrites taking you discipline? It's nice how differently they can be tackled and seen..to me they just gave fun and maybe awakened a bit my creativity.. but i'd say more good chaos rather than discipline :-)

For me, I'm just going for the discipline of making one post per day for the week. I did this once before with the color challenge. I have definitely felt my creativity feel happier ;-)

Nice to meet you. Oh wait and yes! I've been very surprised at all the great and varied ways people are using the freewrite!

Nice to meet you too! It's always amazing the variety of perspectives and the great finds that you discover when commenting the other freewriters' blogs 😊

I have been hiding in the Freewrite House and totally missed this post!! I hope things are calming down for you and that you are moving towards health again.

And I must be so out of it!! I have no idea about Q. Or had - since I now am looking into that... :)
But I am not sure if I want to know about it..... LOL
I am writing a post about you right now for SteemUSA
I am hoping that you come back to wanting to write a lot...

I feel your struggles. Health gets in my way, too. Sending positive thoughts and prayers your way.

The migraine mind grapples with my
sensibility and warps my thoughts keeping me quiet at times, like this weekend.

@mariannewest 5 minute challenge captured me long ago and the daily prompt has allowed discipline to write more frequently and sometimes just comment on the remarkable work the freewrite community is producing daily.

Thank you for your encouragement and congratulations on the wonderful community efforts.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63