The confession - Weekend freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

My only defense was to write down every word they said. There was no way of getting out otherwise. They'd tell me everything exactly as it had happened. From the moment I'd first met Mike to the moment the bomb went off in Park Lane.

interrogation-room-police-suspect-questioning_xkktbk1___F0000.png
Source

The light bulb hung above the square table started flickering. The fat man sitting in front of me didn't bother to look up. Instead, he pushed a piece of paper in front of me and an ordinary plastic pen. They wanted my handwritten confession, although, no doubt, the whole interview was being taped. But, then, they couldn't very well show it in court, could they?
They wanted my confession, to be used against Mike. I hope. They promised I'd walk away, free.

I never even liked Mike. Remember that evening at my place, when he had hit on Eloise? His hands all over her. He was half-drunk, but still. Eloise was my half-sister, but everyone thought she was my cousin. Too hard to explain our twisted family to anyone.
Maybe we've had some fun together. The incident was forgotten, but Mike always found a way to inquire about Eloise every time they met. Actually that was the first thing he'd ask - 'How's that peachy cousin of yours? Peachy? What kind of word is that, anyway?
All that talk about the system and our shitty lives and the coming revolution. Revolution, my ass!
I'll give them Mike's head on a plate if that's what it takes to get me out of here.

The whole operation had been fine-tuned the last time they saw a movie. No need to hide any details since they already knew everything.
I can't even remember why I became friends with the guy. Maybe because he was so articulate and knew how to express all the things I felt. Like he was reading my mind or something.
Of course, they needed to do something. They were the little people, the downtrodden, the 99% percent... And, he had to admit - Mike was a man of action. After all, it was Mike who got hold of the device. I only set it under the bridge.
'You got that wrong, dumbass. Did I tell you to write 'The first time I met Mike? For fuck's sake! Start again! The first time I met the man in the leather jacket. That's all you need to say about him. Got it?'
When I finished writing my hands were shaking. I was exhausted. And hungry. I couldn't go home yet, they said.
As I walked down the corridor, back to the holding area, I got a glimpse of Mike drinking coffee in the big office the investigators shared. The fat man walked up to him and handed him my written confession. They high-fived. My heart sank.

Written for the freewrite challenge created by @mariannewest!

If you want to join the freewrite community, please check her post.

Sort:  

Seriously, who says "Peachy"? Oh no! They're all buddy buddy with Mike! Time get out of dodge, and quick!! Take 2 taxis, a bus, change the clothes and hairstyle, travel to the border, change clothes again, then turn and hightail it to the mountains! You did such a great job with these prompts! I'm so worried for the protagonist!

You got a 1.09% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @marie-jay!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Time for you Freewriters to pamper yourselves!

The massage snakes are ready.
A spider facial is laid out.
This next prompt sounds relaxing,
...unless you flail and shout!

Sunday Freewrite Day 122 - Spa

dirty rotten investigators!! Never believe a word they say!!

Hello you wonderful Encouragers & Prompt Deliverers!!! First of all, each one of you ROCKS!! 😁 Thank you so very much!!! I'm grateful to be in a group with people who take time out of each day to help their fellow freewriters (insert your pat on the back here would you please)! 🤗

I've attached an editable spreadsheet (Ugg..yes I know - I groaned making it LOL!😂) to help organize our deliveries.
It is also pinned in the room Marianne's Plans on Isle of Write's Discord Channel. Please feel free to message me if you'd like a link to the room.

Many of the Encouragers use the room to leave messages for the others so as there isn't any overlap in delivering the prompts (time is precious and who wants to double back?⌚ ).

Please check the schedule to see if there are others slated to deliver prompts for that day. If so, it would be great if you would message (or leave a comment for them on a Freewrite in case they are not on Discord) prior to beginning and then put that on(update) the spreadsheet. This way, each one of us can check our messages and know who starts where and when. (Again, to prevent two people delivering prompts to the same freewriter twice).

If you have any questions or would like me to adjust the sheet, please let me know.
THANK YOU ALL!!! You're doing this is truly appreciated! 💙
(Sorry for leaving such a long comment!)😿

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1AUTuGRu5pDgYodulDQVHqIth_Bbr3saHde66ErcLhQQ/edit#gid=0

My fellow Monday encourager birds @marie-jay, still roosting? I see you are not in the Isle of Write discord Chat room. I'd have loved we share the plan for the visits. @MarcoRiccardi is constrained today, but will be available next Monday. How about you? When you come across this, get in touch. And we reconcile how to make today's visits. Otherwsie, just as a heads-up, to avoid collusion, i am starting my visits from top of the list to down. You may start of from down going up, until we get in touch.

Otherwise, don't worry if you are constrained as well. I am going to be flying all night. Hopefully will deliver the gifts to all.

Thank you for your fantastic work delivering yesterday's prompts Marie-Jay! People like you who are willing to help encourage her fellow freewriters are what make our group so wonderful! ! I hope that you have a lovely day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64