Making freewrite a daily challenge (Over 20 Club)

in #freewrite6 years ago

I had no idea what a freewrite was until I ran into @mariannewest's wonderful daily challenge. It does sound a bit like a therapist having you say whatever comes to mind when you hear a certain word and I do believe freewriting serves the same purpose - exploring your soul, your inner feelings. Not always, but many times the stories I come up with are echoes of the past, things I'd thought forgotten and writing them down is a form of therapy.
I am very happy to say that in my freewriting journey I've tapped into realms of fantasy I didn't know I had in me, but I still have a long way to go so I'm planning around for a long time in this amazing community!
As a new member of the Over20 club, I was asked to search through my freewrites and pick three that I like most, which is almost impossible. As I scrolled down my blog I found stories I could barely remember. Many of them, I know, could have been written better, but I still love the ideas. My mind went something like 'Oh, I loved that' or 'Oh, that was so nice'.
Anyway, I need to pick a few of them so here we go:

The village idiot


The funny thing about this story is that the idea behind it came to me the previous day. From a different prompt. Only that day I didn't have time to write and I was really sorry. Fortunately, the next day I realized I could work the new prompt in the original idea so I sat down to write.
I know this is not exactly how a freewrite is supposed to work, but, on the other hand, I like to toy with the prompt in my head, see where it leads.

Lovebirds


A story about love that didn't get much love! The prompt was 'describe a bird' - and it was one of those moments 'You must be kidding me. I don't know anything about birds.' (@mariannewest has this habit of making you test your limits and your imagination. Incidentally, the only thing I could think of was the famous Hitchcock movie 'The Birds', where they have two lovebirds in a cage.

Night of the green fog

That's all for now - but, I'm already waiting for the moment when I make it to the Over 100 club.

This story is special to me, not (only) because it got a nice @curie vote, but mainly because I allowed myself to go more into the realm of fantasy - which I don't do enough. Not to mention it was a weekend three-prompts freewrite and those are a real challenge.

So excited to have this badge!! Thank you, @freewritehouse!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Isn't it fun to go back and see what we did way back when :) and you might have found some you want to start working on a bit more and turn them into something else...

Will be back with a vote when powered up :)

thank you for walking down memory lane!! And we love that you are writing with us!

I just read all three of these freewrites, none of which I had read before. I am very impressed with your writing skills! And they are all so different. Thanks for sharing them with us again.

I remember The Village Idiot and I really enjoyed it. I just read Night of the green fog and it was so creative and wonderfully sad. You are so talented @marie-jay and it will be fun to follow you on your journey to the Over 100 Club. Congratulations on your Curie...well deserved! Tip!

Hi @marie-jay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Spring Flowers- Pretty White Wildflowers- Part 13 Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71