Redemption - My Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Freewrite (7).png

Redemption

This dude must be crazy, she thought as she was sitting uncomfortably in the metal folding chair. Again, he screamed "Redemption". Spittle was flying all over and it always looked like he was dancing on the stage. Supposedly, he was moved by God to do whatever it was he was doing.

People around her started raising their hands - that was a sign that the spirit of God had entered them a friend had explained to her. The same friend who had brought her here. Begged her to come.

Her eyes had been shining when she told her about these wonderful meetings that so refreshed her and gave her hope.

She, herself, sitting on this probably very cheap chair, couldn't feel any hope. Not even the hope that her butt would stop hurting anytime soon. Maybe she should raise her hand, wave her arm in the air to see if it attracted the spirit of God? Her friend had told her that she can feel it. Only can feel it when she is there. With the preacher on the stage. Now, she said that he was inspirational and moving, but the women sitting on that uncomfortable chair also felt uncomfortable about that ridiculous man prancing and spitting and screaming on the stage.

People around her started to get up from their chairs, moving forward or swaying in place.
Ah, she thought, the chairs do have a purpose. People do want to get up because their butt just cannot take it anymore.

She got up too. But she walked away from the stage towards the exit.

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you so much!!!

Because their butt just cannot take it anymore.

So funny... :)

Always fun to read what you write. :)

Thank you!! 😄 ❤️

I think I've been to some of those meetings! Great freewrite as usual :)

I haven't but I always wanted to go and see what it is all about. Just scared to be in a crowd of fanatics...

Oh this brings back memories. A co-worker insisted her pastor at a Charismatic church could cure my headaches. The guy allegedly was speaking in tongues, and people 'slain by the Spirit" fell to the floor and lay in the aisles. Clearly, other people "caught" the spirit and were moved by it. For them it was all very real. I went in with an open mind and was ready to be slain, caught, convinced, but my brain is not wired for belief. And after seeing Hitler in documentaries, I cannot get excited by any human being exhorting crowds of people to think or feel however the charismatic speaker wishes. Thanks for this Marianne. It's not easy to be the odd man out when everyone else seems truly energized and inspired by something that looks bogus to us....

I think the open mind is key. To go and experience what the world has to offer.

And I am with you. Growing up in post-war Germany, we were indoctrinated with deep mistrust for anyone who wants people to follow blindly.

Marianne, you grew up in post-war Germany? Is this in your introductory post or some bio I missed somewhere? "Late to the Party" is the right title for my story today. That's me, time and time again, the last to know something that everyone else knows. I hope you write about your childhood - what a perspective! Inna, @authorofthings, grew up in post-WWII-Russia, and one of the most startling observations she made in a short story (something I'd never have thought of) was that very few old men were part of her childhood. So many of them died in the war!

Yes, many of them died. I had an interview with Inna and we had so much in common - even though our fathers fought on opposite sides.

I don't know if I mentioned it in my intro post. I have a lot on the podcast and am encouraged by my friends to write some stories about my childhood. compared to where the US was at the same time, we grew up in past centuries circumstances :)

As my kids like to point out - when the dinosaurs roamed. :)

Podcasts - oh man, that's how I miss a **TON ** of stuff!
You do need to write down what you remember so your POV isn't lost. Now, if only the dinosaurs had kept journals and records that we could read today....;)

Loading...

I never liked that showmanship at these kind of revivals. It's really loud and I think a lot of fake emotions can get people worked up. My own faith is quiet. Nice freewrite @mariannewest

Mine too. I have never been to a revival but I went to a Baptist church once and this lady kept standing up and waving her arms in the air. I asked someone later why LOL

I attended a fundamental Baptist church for years and there was none of that or I'd have run for cover lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78