You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Children #WeekendSinglePrompt

in #freewrite7 years ago

When Steemusa first got started - a discord group to support steemians - i wrote about how i can see steem and this platform making a difference for kids without hope, for homeless and so forth.
I wonder if there is already a Kenya group or maybe, one could get started that will and can do something about this. I don't know what the cost of living is in your country - but i would think less than in the US adn steemit earnings could go a long way.

I know that @tojukaka is very active in Nigeria helping people to earn on this platform. he might have ideas.

Sort:  

I appreciate your thoughts. As I have explained to @brisby I don't know any trustworthy groups that deal with street children as I have never worked with one. The thought of doing some thing about street children came to me on Friday night. This maybe because I know where they end up... Juveniles and Prisons. I volunteer as a peer counsellor with a local NGO that works with Prisons :)

I was talking about a steemit group :) But that would be something to bring up to the NGO - to expand their work into prevention...
I am thinking if the kids can get impowered to provide for themselves with crypto earnings - they have a future.

Oh understood. But. We have to start at food before we get to them earning. We have to make sure they go back to school to even understand how #Steemit works. Shelter also is key. Thanks for additional thoughts though :)

Well, maybe the volunteers in for example, your organization, can get on Steemit and use the money they earn to buy food and provide shelter :)
I always am thinking about crowd based solutions....