LATE NIGHT STORIES

in #freewrite6 years ago

DQmNuCfhJPgGPRumRXDXti6KY5ZvJuQPUM9Hs6jdQxbhkuQ.png

Hey guys! @mannyz here. Once again, I feel delighted to participate in today's freewrite by @mariannewest. It's a five minutes write up and I hope you'd enjoy it. If you care to know what the freewrite is all about click here
images.jpg
credit

Grandma always has a way of cajoling us grandchildren into sitting with her under the 40year old mango tree in front of the veranda, were we chat and laugh. This happens almost every other nights. I was 7 then, and the eldest amongst us was 12. At midnight, our parents would force us to go and stay with grandma under the tree. I had the mindset that my dad was punishing me for my misdeeds.

With time, we discovered staying late at night with grandma was fun. Some days she would tell us funny stories, fictive ones; and other days the stories might be horror and after telling us such stories I would be scared to even go to bed.

The twelve of us loved grandma so much for her late night interesting stories and jokes. Sometimes, while sitting under the tree, mango fruits would fall off from the tree branches and grandma will that they are blessings from God. I must say, I miss those moments, childhood moments.
But grandma died last month and was buried under the mango tree. I know nobody can fill the spaces she had left in our hearts.

I decided to visit home this morning to know how mum was faring.
I discovered the tree has been cut down, the only thing that connects with grandma. The tree would have been what reminds us of her, but it's gone.

        @mannyz

U5dsdBKZkyp91cqyfW59TnfEcSwhnbS.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48