I WAS FIVE WHEN I WAS TOLD THE GREATEST LIE EVER

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

DQmNuCfhJPgGPRumRXDXti6KY5ZvJuQPUM9Hs6jdQxbhkuQ.png
Hey everyone, @mannyz here. I happen to be participating in today's freewrite by @mariannewest.
If you wish to know what the freewrite is about, click here
images.jpg

I was only five when my uncle Smith gave me a pair of socks as a birthday gift. They were his size so they were almost thrice my size when he gave them to me. He gave them to me few weeks before he died in a plane crash. And my mum told me to always put them on anytime I was going on a journey, writing an exam or leaving town, that they would always protect me.

Well, that was the mindset I had and grew up with. Mum also told me never to loose them and that if I did, I would be prone to harm and mishap.
Thus, I always wore them anytime I was writing an exam, travelling, going for an interview or leaving town. I never wanted to disrespect mum plus I had really thought the socks were my source of protection anytime I did 'hard' stuff. I was even scared to loose them when I was a teenager because I thought that was my source of protection (lol).

But it's almost two years since I lost them and am yet to figure out how it had been my source of protection because I can virtually 'do hard stuffs' without them on my feet

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I guess you just grew up and realized you don't need (magic) socks!
Here is the new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-214-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-home-alone

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50