Day 28 - 5 minute freeweirte: Ooze

in #freewrite6 years ago

OOZE--

I think of the movie Indiana Jones, Raiders of the Lost Arc--that scene where Indie and the girl were left down in the pit during the exscavation in Egypt, and there were snakes everywhere, and he looked up on the wall and snakes were dropping out of cracks in the wall. They slithered out of crecices, oozed out of holes, plopped down at his feet, crawled over his toes, and hissed at his movements.

It was his doom. The torches were running out of flame and they couldn’t hold off the snakes much longer--then Indie realized something. How could snakes be coming out of a wall unless it was hollow and something was behind it? They broke through the wall with a stone statue and eventually found their escape.

How I loved those movies as a child. The adventure, the thrill, the clever, life-threatening scrapes Indie would find himself in all just to save an artifact. It was all so romantic. I always found him so dreamy. I’m pretty sure I wanted to marry him, or something to that effect.

He aged fairly well. I never thought he would age at all--but somehow he did. And it pierced my heart. I thought that time would freeze in space, and nothing would ever change, and everyone would stay the way they always were.

I looked in the mirror. I think I was 7 when his movie came out. What happened to that little girl? Where did that time go? I’m going to have to make a commitment to live long past 90, otherwise my life would be halfway over by now, and I can’t live with that. I need much more time. I’ve got a lot to do.

I’m going to live to 100. At least.

Sort:  

Oh no! Where'd you go?

Hey. Still here. Just got a lot of crap going on. Kinda sucks. But I'll be back soon. How's the Leeetle one? How is your wife doing? You guys exhausted and up all night with baby? Aww, how fun.

We're good. Sorry things are sucking! I hope they get better soon. We're exhausted, but happy... well, except when we're cranky, but, you know, still happy. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06