'Gymnastics' - a Poem - Freewrite #3

in #freewrite6 years ago

Overgrown Ivy


                            i was sure i had
                 a purpose

                                                         why else - in the kitchen

                       numbers on my hand                  the winning ones?

                 was i about to call
                                      the hotline...

                                                                get this whole thing straightened

                 out - no that was it - the measurements

                                 to build a bird bath out
                                                           beside the patio
                         my wife had asked me

                                                                             when that was
                                                                             when was that...
                                                                             when

                 it mattered if i made her happy

                                                       but that’s lost
                                                                                like last month’s roast
                                          behind the fridge, the ones before that

                 ah, so here’s the combination
                         for the kitchen sink - no safe, no wait...

                                                              maybe i should try
                                                                                up in the bedroom


@lazarus-wist


Image


This is my third entry to the daily freewrite project hosted by @mariannewest,
with the prompt 'Fart'. We all get ones of the brain variety on ocassion...

Previous Entries:
1) Best Man - Flash Fiction
2) The Bucket List - Flash Fiction

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Love this poem. I like the use of form!

Thanks Janelle, yes I thought it would suit the scatter brained musings quite well :)

Congratulations @lazarus-wist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow, that was a totally different freewrite from what I usually see, and I like it! Especially with the fine print about the brain fart, at the bottom.

Cheers for stopping by - glad you liked it :)

that was sure an interesting brain fart!!

Haha, thank you Marianne!

A very interesting take on the prompt. Nicely done!
It’s Wednesday so it’s myself with your challenge for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-174-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-vandals

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I LOVE this. The simplicity of it. Using a daily gesture to underline the tragedy we all face with age. I'm very into shaped-poetry too and this represents perfectly a troubled soul. Then again, I've seen it in my family and I'm particularly sensible to this matter. Just keep your magic going on mate :)

Thank you so much - I really needed this comment right about now haha. My family also has a long and fairly troubling history...

I have lost my grandmother to Alzheimer and we were very close. She was a painter, and her painting would become darker and darker, expressing the evolution of the disease. I'm glad my comment has helped you, you're still my favorite poet around here, innit :p

Mine was recently diagnosed with Dementia, it runs on her side apparently. That must have been so sad to see it expressed like that, though, I suppose, good that she had some way of letting it out.

innit

Cheeky bugger hahaha.

The most beautiful part was that she always denied being ill. And one day, we found a letter where she tells us the truth. She has been aware all along of her condition. It's a beautiful letter full of light, of love when her paintings have turned black and desperate. (P.S. : yeah I had to tease you, you Albion traitor :p)

I love this! Especially how one line leads to another through form and words. It really brings out the thought process and how we jump from one thought to another. I sometimes start with one thing and start thinking about something else, and when I retrace how I got there, I'm usually amazed at how the smallest of things trigger different thoughts!

I especially like these lines:

when that was
when was that...
when

Thank you! I'm so glad that came across for you :) The paths our thoughts take... always an eternal mystery for me, and one deserving of exploration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38