Sunflower seeds

in #freewrite6 years ago

Seeds of sun flower and chipmunks fill their cheeks, run about in glee. But, for me, the sunflower seeds came up not just as sunny, but inflammatory on a food allergen blood test.

What? I don’t eat that many sunflower seeds in fact I can’t remember the last time I carefully chewed on the zebra kernels for those little bits of oatmeal gray.

It may have been 1988, my hostess job at the JB Big Boy’s on University Ave, the last time I put a heaping teaspoon of shelled atop my preservative-sprayed salad mix (iceberg, purple cabbage and bleached carrot medley), the cucumbers, eggs, beets and cottage cheese I fit in the wooden bowl smothered in ranch and sprinkled with these.

The sneeze guards I was ordered to wipe down with Windex at the end of the shift, why so many had touched their face grease to the glass I do not know? I hauled buckets of melted ice to the complaining dishwasher boys, the management instructing me not to throw away any of the decorative kale we used to cover the ice, position the Tupperwares within. I had to wash away the spilled and sticky Catalina dressing, carefully scratch the turned to rubber raspberry Jello and Cool Whip salad from the dead leaves, after bath, stack these in a gray dishwashing tub, return to the walk-in to be arranged and re-used again tomorrow,

“After all, Kimberly, this IS a business!”

My coked-up manager, Craig, with his greased-back, black hair had contemptuously put me in my place when I suggested chucking a particularly dirty batch of Kale and seeds early.

So, why now were sunflower seeds showing up on my battery of foods to avoid?

Though I attempt to limit packaged, there are those enticing junk-foods in the health food section of the grocer that seem great alternatives, but after really reading labels, I found that sunflower seeds and their oil are used in almost ALL of these supposed health snack alternatives, including dried seaweed for a soup!

So, here was the sneaked in source of not so sunny seeds.


Photo Credit/salad bar creative commons

Sort:  

Ha, this made me think of Soup 'r Salads. Uncle Bruni laughing with you, not at you! 🤣🤣🤣

Glad to make you laugh :)

Oh no, must be really annoying to be making exxxxtra effort to avoid getting them into your system! Here's today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-375-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-forty-four

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81