Local Derby

in #freewrite6 years ago

There is a white house on Kensington, the place where the kid lived who used to come over and drink an entire jug of milk, the one my ex-husband went off the rails on, the kid of alcoholic parents who fought bitterly at night and worked their headached days away at Costco.

Today, there are laughing men on the roof, stripping away the shingles after a crazy man was evicted from the same house, who yelled at me once as I walked by, “Give me your guns,” after the milk family dissolved, moved away, went sour with its bitter curds.

There is a local derby here in our tourist-centered, retiree town with a real estate market that just won’t stop, confirmed by the women in their white, Clatsop County van, the duo from the tax assessment office who came out a month or two ago to walk around my house, make sure there were no expensive additions they could collect upon.

We talked about no rhyme-or-reason when it comes to property values and their due to the city coffers, but in feigned regret they told me all would be going up. At least my old house has only been mine and one other family, the Finnish, Sven Lund and his wife and kids, county commissioner and President of Bumble Bee Tuna. Yes, I’m sure they had their difficulties just as any family does, heartaches and restless nights, but the energy here is clean when compared to some of the turn-of-the-centuried residential lineages up for sale.

When I was a child, growing up in a pinkisk/beige, panty-hose colored house on 300 East, we were one wooded hollow away from the Sunday horse races in which we as Mormon kids weren’t allowed to attend, the all-day cheers, buzzers and bells, the drunken raucous the announcers mic-ed voice reaching in through my white curtains as I painted red nail polish on my nude tights to prevent further runs, to ensure one or two more wearing’s under my terry-cloth dress so I’d look put together for the Sunday School, Sacrament, Primary, three-hour race.

Photo Credit: Mathew Schwartz/unsplash

Sort:  

This story was selected for the Freewrite Favorites :)

and Fyi, Sunday is now down to 2 hours at the Mormon church :) Progress.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/freewrite-favorites-37

you upvote will be on a more current post :)

Fantastic!
Yes, I heard that, the three hour tour is now only two ;) Also, that they're leaving the scouting program.
Thank you :)

Fantastic story! That is quite a wonderful ride.

Thank you for reading :)

I don't know if you know this, but I entered this story in freewritehouse's recommend a freewrite contest and won!!! Thank you for being you!

No, I didn't know. Yay! Thank you for entering me :)

I loved how you told the story, it was like cut, cut ,cut and you made a story that was coherent enough from the whole cuts..

Nicely written.

Short-cut's in five minutes time to cover more area ;) Glad to have you read.

Plato writes how Soctates describes, in Phaedrus, the world of all the souls - the gods, on the one hand perfect, and on the other those falling down to earth - pretty much as a circus maximus with a chariot race going on. A parade of chariots at least. The gods have a pair of calm and manageable horses (both white) and the mortals have one white docile horse but also one black horse pulling them down, out of the heavens, onto the earth. This is the well-known story of the Fall in Greek version.

All the souls have wings, but the mortal souls fall to earth like the reverse story of a butterfly, left to crawl the earth wingless. The process of initiation (learning lessons) is highly sped up by becoming a philosopher, and you should have a new set of wings and a pair of perfect horses within 3000 years. (Otherwise you are going round in circles for 10.000 years).

No free pass for the Platonists, may I note. Probably no easy front-row tickets,either, after all your work in tights and flowery dresses (sorry, projecting the elders my son is now hanging out with onto you; your terry-cloth might have been plain orange or mauve, maybe with a pale blue or umber stripe somewhere, as the seventies fashion went.).


Yes, was orange terry as a matter of fact :) A little orange and white stripped belt with gold ends that twisted into one another to form a butterfly!
Hanging out with the elders? I guess at least they'll discourage smoking :/

what a great song. Thanks, long not heard. Even if it was not for me, I took advantage :)

It is great, huh! A friend of mine sang for New Year's celebration at the theater downtown and she sounded amazing. It's been going through my head ever since :)
Glad you took advantage!

If only!! My whole hallway where the coats hang, my washing and the kid himselfs stink of smoke (and she is barred from my house). Only a matter of time till he's addicted through passive smoking.

Was wondering about where the smithonians stand on sex. Discouraging it would also be nice, too. I wonder what their policy is on abortion... I know I'm fast changing mine to a non-negotiable radical stance... (Can you imagine a girl who is so possessive and jealous - who forgets to take her meds - remembering to take the Pill consistently?...It was my first nightmarish vision back in July when I was convinced my son was telling the truth that she believed in no sex before marriage. May I now be proven to not have a previsionary bone in my body please.

Since July the deception has densified so darkly, their baptismal swimming pool would turn black if they dipped him into it (he attended a baptising and described it to me as a hilarious event, especially the white jumpsuits the pair in the water wore. I ended up reminding him to be more respectful regards his opinion and actually the best respect would be shown by not attending at all!!). Talking to walls these days is proving to be a comfort and great company compared to the uncarved block (or so they praise my child in his quaintly posed angelic moments) I have been speaking to for 20 years.

No on premarital sex, no on abortion, no on smoking/drinking, but as you know not everyone follows the rules. Hopefully, she's sticking to abstinence so you don't have to go through that, but sometimes the not doing it means a desire to get married as soon as possible :/

My most dreaded thoughts exactly...
But I guess use of Pill, is a small comfort then....
ARGHH.... no comfort at all.
Living with a stranger. I think tons of mothers end up like that.
But me too??? Ay, Luciferic I who did not want to end up like this.

What do you need to incapacitate your son? A court order? You mentioned something like that. If this seems to be the only sensible solution for you, you should go this way. You still couldn't stop him from impregnating a girl, but he probably wouldn't be responsible as a father, neither emotionally nor financially? Do I see it correctly that you are afraid that from now on you would not only have your son, but also additional responsibility for a grandchild and possibly a woman at your son's side, whom you did not ask for?

Would incapacitation mean at the same time that a diagnosis of mental disability must take place, that your son would have to live under supervision in an institution for the disabled? Where would he be looked after 24/7 and you would be freed from this difficult task? After all, an adult man cannot be guarded and patronized unless others confirm that he does not have the ability to take care of himself.

In the meantime, it seems, you have to live with this torn heart, which deeply desires freedom and on the other hand cannot simply let go of the burden of responsibility.

But as long as your son is considered legally capable and liable, he must stand or fail for his actions, whatever that means.

Can you take advice and help in your immediate surroundings? There will be people who offer that, won't there? It seems to me that you deal too much with yourself.

I never knew you were once a Mormon, waoh, I've wanted to meet one for a long time.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt to your doorstep 🚪.
...
You want to go single with this.
👇 👇 👇
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-26-2019-single-prompt-option
...
And if you're thinking of going pro.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-26-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a nice weekend.
...

You probably know some other's, but just don't know ;)
Thanks for reading and the prompts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42