Hook

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hook, line and sinker. I go fishing most weekends at Coffinberry Lake. Three weeks ago the fish & game guys stocked the lake and now we sit for hours trying every old-man lure we can find. Best on the barbecue wrapped in tin foil with green onions in the belly, olive oil drizzled upon.

I did what the man said--the Youtube guy that wrote a thin book about healing a broken heart. I suppose that’s what’s got me—a broken, or torn heart, now only faded construction paper that I can’t bear to burn. I’ve created stacks of paper scraps and not sure what anyone will do with the filled boxes if I die?

I’ve still got two or so minutes to sum this all up and the clock ticks, shuffling time off into the basement and attics of past I am continually fueling and folding and organizing. Drawing detailed number maps and mazes and there isn’t anyone who agrees to try figuring one out on behalf of me, just being me, and alive.

My daughter returns to tell me how math speaks to English and it’s all about fallacy and the big honey bees that wreck into our window as they buzz the orange azalea bush that blooms every May when I find I’m in need of a new profile pic if I want to attract something new.

Photocredit: Luke Bays/unsplash

Sort:  

Very curious trail that your thoughts leave! Fun to follow :-)

Thank you for following them!

Don't worry about the profile pic. All you needed was a new sofa and some new exclusive @sukhasanasister designer wallpaper (kalemandra colorchallenge entries). The rest is stunning as is.

Your bees are bringing you great (new) tidings. Your daughter is extremely wise. Your heart... well, yes, there's that question of time again.

I, too, have too many boxes labelled: "Destroy in case of death".

Makes me so happy to come here and see my new profile pic :) Choice of background is much richer & urges me to think of where I'd like to be rather than the same 'ole drab background.
Thank you, sukhasanasister.

Woah, that was an interesting trail of thoughts - I wish I could be as free as that, just let my mind wonder. Impressive, I particularly liked the ending, maybe because you mentioned honey... Maybe because it was good writing ;)

Anywho, I'm in charge of delivering the new prompt, so here ya go:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-194-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-sweater

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks, honeydue!

The hook challenge. The 5 minute challenge. I wrote one too in a post. Oh, I like bees. I wonder if duct-tape can mend a broken heart.

:) I've duct taped my rear-view mirror, but it keeps falling off!

Funny and reminds me of that one show, the red green show or forget the exact name. I wrote a song about duct tape and broken hearts once.

I bet it's good!

I love how you just flowed with this. Very cool to be so unbuttoned :)

Thank you! Glad you came by to read my thoughts.

So much great stuff in here - but this one!!!

I did what the man said--the Youtube guy that wrote a thin book about healing a broken heart.

And those boxes - there is part of me who wants to look at them now - but I am not giving it my time... Maybe just burn them now :)

Thanks, marianne :)
Tough for me to burn them--perhaps more work to do?

I enjoyed your musings.
I like what you allude here:

there isn’t anyone who agrees to try figuring one out on behalf of me, just being me, and alive.

Awesome freewrite! Your post was nominated as a Freewrite Favorite and was featured in our weekly Freewrite Favorites this week!

Oh, thank you!

This will sound weird, but, I really like the line/thought:

My daughter returns to tell me how math speaks to English and it’s all about fallacy...
I'm not sure why... it intrigues me, haha! It almost seems the beginning of philosophical discussion.

Doesn't sound weird at all! Glad the line resonates with you.

Oh man, your brain works a lot like mine! I love the visuals this invokes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44