Getting the Images Down on Paper

in #freewrite6 years ago

paper.jpg

Composition notebooks are on sale in September and I buy a stack of them in order to have plenty of portable papers—fresh lines to write upon. Problem is I also keep a small literary-given in my purse and keep dreams written and drawn upon, mixed with random thoughts and loose associations scrawled, one eye open, in the black, leather bound journals with glued spines.

Always, if I’m able, keep myself in fresh pens, slick, precise, V5’s, rolling ball, extra fine. A pack of two costs $7.35 at the local Fred Meyer. Once in a blue moon, the reds or blues go 25% off and so too, I employ these in taking bits from the world in symbol form on blue-ruled lines.

In my blue, puff-coat, the one I should just toss, the one I wear to smoke under the bamboo, or to the lake when we’re fishing because I don’t mind wiping worm guts or the glowing, green glitter of power bait on its sleeves, is right now stuffed with random receipts and auto repair notes with my observations, beginnings of poems written as I so intently observe the two men, four little boys one dock over. Despite all of those journals and notebooks I’ve gathered, I once again find my mind wandering, pen moving with only random scraps pulled from the glovebox to write upon.

Sort:  

And then one day...

Yep! Somehow your stacks looks more beautiful than the overflowing drawers at my place :)
Awhile back I was thinking maybe I just get a remote place out in the desert and set to re-reading all that I've written in a discovery of self. I suppose that sounds somewhat narcissistic, but maybe one doesn't have to feel that's a selfish move considering all of the years of been mothering (both siblings and my own).

I didn't actually need to reread. Somehow the shredder did that for me.

You are brave! Why, oh, why do I hoard the past?

It's the horror vacui, my dear. We all suffer with it.

I really enjoy a good pen. Smooth flow with an extra fine tip? Perfection. I have so many old notebooks overflowing with random thoughts, ideas, lists upon lists and story ideas. It is a treasure trove hidden in the boring stuff.

This is a wonderful freewrite that is bringing so much of my own self to mind.

Yes, a good pen makes all of the difference!
I agree, a treasure trove of idea's and poetic starts. Sometimes I go back and re-read what I thought was crap and find I really like what I've written--wow, maybe I am creative?
Thank you for reading!

You are most welcome. I am often surprised when I find something I wrote long ago and realize that I think it's pretty good. I guess you are creative!

Your words made it to my We Make Artsy web art. Because your post has #wordart, this post is one of the posts that is repeated word for word in my web art.

More info about what I'm talking about in my post: https://steemit.com/artgenerator/@insaneworks/we-make-artsy-artgenerator

Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52