Euphoric Forces

in #freewrite6 years ago

Movement means bodies doing something in my mind, and Beastie Boys too, get on down, the mic drops, Geronimo, and Good & Plenty’s and coupon dropping grannies, we all gotta get our spines a-going, a-bending, a-springing, or they start to rust and creak and crack, and the skin not so supple and the cottage cheeses, long pans of ricotta-lasagna-mess on my thighs seems to multiply while the legs get pencil-thin in jeans and knee’s in line with out of time hip start to skip a bit on the AAMC dance floor, so much fun though, and I throw my head back and laugh, watch the young-uns get real far down to the tunes they think are retro, butt scrubbing the floor and polishing their partner’s with their brick-bouncing behinds, static so slow, 2001 is still hot to me, and that’s how I know that I am old, but I push my own mower and paint circles around many a gym rat—shake crazy, arms free from my sides in frenzied movement. And, look! Not a one period in an entire paragraph, no stops, just FLOW!

Me, as ecstatic dance teacher takes them from meditative-five, story-telling journey’s—and then you find a music box, or you see a flashing shape, now YOU take it to the floor and let it escape or blossom, your choice, there are markers and white sheets if you’re the type who takes down notes of body/psyche wirings, oh, feel so free, roll around on the second-story floor if you must, leap, turn, shuffle, advance, run the entire odd-fellows length, bust into robot, or tip-toes ballerina your way back home, just don’t be confused by what your body wants,
to MOVE!

Video Credit: BeastieBoysSolidGold/youtube
Video Credit: Ludicris/youtube

Sort:  

The body never forgets anything, even if it is no longer able to practice the unforgotten. I danced through the nights and infected others with the sheer joy of movement. When music flows through arms and legs and you become the expression of it yourself, you feel ecstasy. The body chemistry begins to work and the feeling of freedom begins to flow. Drums still seem hypnotic to me and I understand why you can dance around a fire for hours without getting tired. But now I can no longer show myself publicly, because the dance is reserved for the young and I no longer have a place to share this ecstasy with others. Which is a pity. That's how I reminisce.

I went not long ago, to a town dance (as an old woman), and went nuts dancing on my own. Was I a little self-conscious? Yes, but I loosened up and felt the euphoria.
A few years back I was facilitating an ecstatic dance class and have been thinking of resurrecting it. Your comment here makes me realize it's a good idea for people our age to have a space in which to dance as a community--I knew that already, but you're underlining it, pointing me in that direction.
As ever, thanks for reading and insights :)

:-))))) Good for you! I like the thought of you dancing like nuts!

You have a chance to make a dancing class possible? That is great. I must think of tea parties where the old folks danced together but never saw that here in Germany, only on TV. LOL. Though I would not see myself as a tea party dancer. HeHe.

Some years ago I strolled through town and stumbled upon a dancing event in a basement where the sounds of music attracted me. I peeped in and there were elegant people dancing Tango. It looked so beautiful.

I think so. I did it before. I'll have to check the schedule at the movement center and find out if there are any good open spots. I've been told some people have asked about it since I quit.
There are also two lovely twins that teach tango at the center here. I did try it once and it was a lot of fun. Many of the other dancers were fairly good, but accepted me fine. I think I prefer the free-form :)

You found your flow beyond the sleaze
of bowel movement temptation
potty humor tribulation
soft landing in ricotta
and cottage cheese

@kimberlylane....your freewrites still amaze me. This makes me want to drop legs and pop it lol.

I have featured you in this week's pay it forward contest hosted by @thedarkhorse. Keep up the good work.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@honeysim/my-entry-to-looking-back-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-17-thedarkhorse

I hope you did, drop and pop! :)

lol...I will eventually, dont worry.

Hello @kimberlylane, really nice post.. remind me to my other half who never like dancing or doing such beautiful gesture to enjoy her day, but she's alright with all the hosehold chores. why afraid to move if you still have chance and energy to do that? found your post from @honeysim entry post for the pay it forward contest this week.. wish you continued success!

Maybe you can start her slow dancing--your arms around her for security? Make it a joyful daily practice and perhaps she'll open up?
Thank you for reading and commenting.

That was so much fun to read! It makes me want to dance...and I laughed about the ricotta cheese thighs! Hahaa


I'm also the prompt fairy again! ☄
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-281-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-breed

Or, if you have a favourite freewrite poem to recommend, hop here and give yourself a chance to win one SBI. Click on the photo below and you will reach there immediately 😁.

Imgur

See You There!😀

Darn ricotta! Gotta move it off :)

I have nothing to say @kimberlylane.. this post make me laugh though, love your free-writting as always

Thank you, @cicisaja :) Glad you were laughing!

Nice freewrite @kimberlylane. Just need to let the body feel the music, who cares if you look like Ginger Rogers are Carlton LOL

Thanks. Yes, I don't think it matters what we look like, just go for it. Actually, draws more attention when you don't dare. Last dance I was at, a younger woman was trying to drag her drink in hand boyfriend/husband out onto the floor--treating him like a five year old and then others started to join in ;P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56796.26
ETH 2497.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23