You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Euphoric Forces

in #freewrite6 years ago

The body never forgets anything, even if it is no longer able to practice the unforgotten. I danced through the nights and infected others with the sheer joy of movement. When music flows through arms and legs and you become the expression of it yourself, you feel ecstasy. The body chemistry begins to work and the feeling of freedom begins to flow. Drums still seem hypnotic to me and I understand why you can dance around a fire for hours without getting tired. But now I can no longer show myself publicly, because the dance is reserved for the young and I no longer have a place to share this ecstasy with others. Which is a pity. That's how I reminisce.

Sort:  

I went not long ago, to a town dance (as an old woman), and went nuts dancing on my own. Was I a little self-conscious? Yes, but I loosened up and felt the euphoria.
A few years back I was facilitating an ecstatic dance class and have been thinking of resurrecting it. Your comment here makes me realize it's a good idea for people our age to have a space in which to dance as a community--I knew that already, but you're underlining it, pointing me in that direction.
As ever, thanks for reading and insights :)

:-))))) Good for you! I like the thought of you dancing like nuts!

You have a chance to make a dancing class possible? That is great. I must think of tea parties where the old folks danced together but never saw that here in Germany, only on TV. LOL. Though I would not see myself as a tea party dancer. HeHe.

Some years ago I strolled through town and stumbled upon a dancing event in a basement where the sounds of music attracted me. I peeped in and there were elegant people dancing Tango. It looked so beautiful.

I think so. I did it before. I'll have to check the schedule at the movement center and find out if there are any good open spots. I've been told some people have asked about it since I quit.
There are also two lovely twins that teach tango at the center here. I did try it once and it was a lot of fun. Many of the other dancers were fairly good, but accepted me fine. I think I prefer the free-form :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26