Day 165: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: record with @mariannewest

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


Photo credit: Jack Hamilton/Unsplash

Think back to those days—record the sounds of all of those gone through stacks of records we danced to in my long, living-room before venturing upstairs to lie upon the mattress of light sounds and dizzy afternoon’s. You had your favorites and me, mine and we’d take one from the sleeve, try to hold the collage of us in an epiphany of better than the last—a looping and meandering song of our souls on rock and roll.

The last time I went to your house, not to see you, but to drop off the culling of the record collection, those that were your additions to my stack that brought back too many arguments after the listening’s were placed in a sturdy whiskey box despite your being a dry-drunk. I scotch-taped an Easter postcard depicting three white crosses, wrote on the back in black, slick ink, FOR: DJ Dollarbin.

Last weekend, I had to fight the urge to call after listening to your late night radio broadcast, one in which you played several of the given back records. Meeting on the airwaves, you commenting that there was an astral disc jockey helping you select the songs and I knew that angel was me, but you never dedicated one song, tied me to you on-air in name.

Sort:  

I can just picture those memories eating at someone.. Well done!!

Happy for you to have read and glad that you can SEE the memories :)

This was a powerful freewrite and I felt the unwritten emotion. Well done! Followed!

Oh, thank you!
Just read your wonderful tribute to your Mom :)

interesting!! The subtle meaning - out in the open, but only two can understand it... I like it!!

Thank you. Yes, I seem to enjoy keeping some private--b/n me and the memory and happy you see/read that.

Something in the musical airwaves for us! Wrote about music, and the ex it came with, today too!

That must've been sad :/ Really made me feel... Well done :)

Anyhow, I'm in charge of delivering the latest prompt, so here you go:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-165-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-yogurt

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks! I'll complete the prompts as I can. And, added the freewritehouse :)

Does that take 5 mins in total including editing it?

Yes. I think that's how one is supposed to approach it and how I did. This is the first one I've done and was surprisingly happy with the results.
If you're interested in participating, check out @marrianewest or that FREEWRITEHOUSE post right above yours :) I think I'll be trying it again.

Congratulations @kimberlylane! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @kimberlylane! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70