WeWrite | The Boxer

in #freewrite5 years ago

8uj7nk5w82.jpg

Image sourced From Unsplash

She lay there watching the clock tick. She could hear her heart beating, her thoughts racing through all the different scenarios, always hoping for the best, expecting the worst.

Aren't people supposed to change? She didn't want to ask though she wished it. Hoping her soft words, and her quiet actions would translate. Did he not worry as she did? Things were different now. Don't people change along with the situation?

The door creaked open. He's home. For just a moment, relief surged through her body. Very quickly replaced by anxiety. She will pretend she's asleep, or he would be compelled to tell her how the night went. She didn't want to know.

"Hey Babe." He kissed her gently on the cheek. Her mind willed her to stay still but her heart betrayed it. She turned around to look at him and switched on the night light.

The dim glow, threw shadows on the walls and ceiling. Shadows taunting her. Teasing her to speak the truth. Say it, say it they chanted. She grit her teeth. Mother used to tell her the best time to discuss anything life changing was after a warm shower and a good meal.

"Hey, you're awake. I should shower first." She nodded. Maybe to him, maybe to the shadows urging her to speak her mind. She clicked the bedside lamp for the brighter light, and immediately saw the cuts and bruises on his face, his lips.

She sat up, and before she could say anything, he grinned.

"I beat him to a pulp, Babe. You should have seen him. Lying there crumpled. Like some road kill. You should come watch me. Just like old times. The people are loving it. Just like you used to."

She walked over to the medicine cabinet and got the Dettol to wash the cuts. As she went through the routine of cleaning his wounds, he regaled her with how he threw his punches. How the opponent came at him. How he was thrown against the ring. How the crowd cheered. How his Lil Sophea will be so proud of her father. The Greatest Boxer on this side of town.

This is where @ireenchew, my WeWrite Partner took over the story....

Tears slowly started to fill her eyes. She could not withstand the pain in her chest, it was like a sharp knife pierced through the deepest part of her soul. Taking a deep breath, she held her poise firm and hard.

Putting down the cotton that was soaked with Dettol on the bedside table, she walked over to the dressing table and opened up the top drawer. Slowly taking out the brown coloured envelope, she held it close to her body.

Babe, I'm going to head for the showers first. If you're tired, sleep first ya. We'll talk in the morning. I've got to head out to Mikey's with the guys to map out next week's match.

Sandra clutched the envelope in her hands. She had planned to give it to him a week ago but knowing that he was all worked-up about tonight's match, she thought it was best to wait.

The header on the envelope states DRAFT : SEPARATION / DIVORCE PAPERS

She's had enough. The sleepless nights, the worry and fear that he might not be walking through the doors every time he goes out. It was fine when it was just the two of them. Nothing else mattered! But now, with Lil Sophea growing day by day, it's all just too much for her to bear.

What sort of examples would they be setting to this unborn child? To be born in a surrounding filled with blood, bruise and pain. This is totally unacceptable and abnormal.

She was going to give him an ultimatum. Either his boxing career or them. Her bags were packed and well hidden in the closet. Knowing his usual routine of catching up with the guys after every match, this would be her opportunity to sneak out of the house and catch the late night flight to Arizona. She would leave the envelope with the letter on the dressing table for him. By the time, he comes home in the morning, she'll be long gone.

Her mama will be waiting for her at the ariport when she arrives and they will be heading for St Patrick's Maternity Care so that she can spend her last trimester preparing for Lil Sophea's arrival into this world. Touching her belly, Sandra felt Lil Sophea moved as if assuring her that everything will be alright. That Daddy would come to them and leave this world behind him. But will it ?

What happens next will be entirely up to him. What will he decide ? Boxing or Them ?

The End

If you would like to know more about WeWrite or even how to FreeWrite, head on over to @mariannewest or/and the @FreeWriteHouse.

text15.png

Be A Part of The DTubeRevolution: @nathanmars is on a Mission to grow DTube; Post 1 Video and more so Engage with at least 3 DTubers every day.

Images & Videos are from my Photo Gallery unless stated

Till We Meet Again Over Text, Pics, Videos, Maybe Even Coffee ....

Live Life Loud & Steem On
❤️sh33la


@SteemitBloggers | @SteemitMamas | @TheAlliance | @FreeWriteHouse | @Qurator

Sort:  

Hurray our first we write post together 😊..

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeeehaaaa
We may be a little late but we did it hahahaha
Thank you so much for being my partner in crime :D

Hurray our first we write post together 😊..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

i'm going to put the boost on this one for you! :)

just so you know - this is probably going to have to be a few rounds. I did a boost for $12 (36 steem) and they just returned 27 to me. LOL

so.... putting in 27 again! hopefully we'll get this all done tonight???? hahahaha
maybe when you wake up in the morning it will be finished @kaerpediem! hehe

Oh, did I miss the announcement??
I see a few congratulatory messages...
Did I win?
I think I did...
ohhhhh
I hope I am not jumping the gun like the last time hahahaha
I think I didddd hahahaha
Thank you Thank you... @dreemsteem <3
It was a lot of fun :D

Hehehehhehehe

Yessssssssss you won!!!

But only 30% of the boost went through so far because smartsteem kept sending it back to me in portions lololol

I just woke up and will begin my attempts again hahahhaa

It's your latest post that I've been sending the 36 Steem boost too ($12 upvote value hehehe)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I was reply from Partiko hahhaaa yes... This post! Lolollol

And now that I think of it

.I guess I could have just sent you 36 Steem! Lololol

Oh wow!! That's a lot!!
whheeeeee we won!!!
All that heavy breathing was not wasted hahahaha

I have to be honest, I don't know what this "boost" thing is about...
I still have so much to learn

But whoooohooooo
Just told the kids and they are delighted
Thank you so much @dreemsteem :D

Oh... A boost is just a vote from a bid bot. Right now if you log into smartsteem.com, you can see the cost of a $12 upvote value is 36 steem. So that's all I did..but it got sent back to me last night four times as I continue to resubmit it. so now I'm wondering they gave me the value of 17 steem... so you can see the value of the payout on this post went from $3 to $11. What would you prefer? Would you prefer I send you a boost with the remaining 19 steem, or would you prefer I just send 19 steem directly to you. If you're holding the steem, and it goes up in value... That might be the better option? I'm not sure I'll leave it up to you 🙂

let me know which option you prefer and I shall make it happen today! 😂

Whichever is easiest for you @dreemsteem
I had so much fun with the kiddos, it is already a win for me.
This is like the icing on the cake 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

aghhhhh ok - that was my 5th attempt LOL they keep sending massive amounts back to me. so after that last one - they sent back 16 Steem

I'll just transfer that 16 steem directly to you account now! so half was in upvotes - and the other half in liquid steem hehehe

ok @kaerpediem? :) still you won and got all the prize winnings to do whatever you like with hehehehehee

Over the moon
Thank you Thank you Bless you @dreemsteem

Nice collaboration ladies, @ireenchew, @kaerpediem. Hope he made the best decision in the end!

So tricky though right these situations....
the ultimatums...
Thank you @happycrazycon :D
Trust you are feeling good <3

Loved it!! You two did so well together!!

Yay 😊
Thank you thank you
@ireenchew just so you know 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow !! We mamas rock here .. ha ha ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60