two poems inspired by "stone rose" - 5 min Freewrite Prompt!

in #freewrite5 years ago

yellow-rose-4251915_1280.jpg

Hello everyone!

It's been a few weeks since I did a freewrite. I've been feeling a bit uninspired lately so I thought it was a good day to stretch my creative muscles. Today prompt was "stone rose". You should check out the post if you'd like to participate!

So in the five minutes, I came up with two poems. Here's the first one:

"can I have the beauty of a rose
while I am made of stone
I want the fragrance
the velvet touch
without the thorns"

I think perhaps the concept of "fragility" was on my mind. How flowers are a fleeting thing and stone can last ever so much longer. How do you balance being hard and soft? I liked this poem and I felt it was very much in line with the kinds of poems I tend to write.

Here is the second one:

"I let my body flow
feeling the stretch
deep in my bones
opening to the sun
like a willing rose
I ask my emotions to become
as still as stone"

Hmm... not bad. I do not think this poem is as similar to my previous work as the last one. For this one, it took more work to re-arrange it the way I like. I feel like it could still do with some more work. I had an image in my mind of the concepts of "stone" and "rose" being a part of the same moment, instead of contrasting each other in the last poem. I think it has potential but... I don't know that I hit that emotional resonance that I can normally find in my short poems.

Even if I think the second one needs some work, I enjoyed today's freewrite as always! I'm thankful it got me creating, even if I don't feel like I was at the top of my game today. Heh.

The picture above was found on Pixabay and is free to use.

xo
Ciel

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I ask my emotions to become
as still as stone
as dark as a bitter plum
and yet, I'm still alone
and feel like scum
)))

A beautiful, but sad poem. :)

I like them both, Ciel :) I think there is a contrast you are working with with the concepts of living fragility of a rose and inanimate invincibility of a stone. It gives rise to an evocative feeling when i read the poems :)

Hi @justatouchfey!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.156 which ranks you at #2960 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 164 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Your poems are always good. 😁

Take a ride on my magic wet carpet 👀
MomentCam_20190704092905.gif
Power_House_Creatives_Logos_FINAL.png
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-622-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-wet-carpet

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! LOL today's prompt is pretty interesting...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57455.91
ETH 2919.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58