Free Write - Inbox

in #freewrite5 years ago

I've had an electronic inbox since like 1998 back when I was thirteen years old in Oregon. It all began around that time. I was born in 1985. My first email was from Yahoo, I think.

History

As a family, we had American Online (AOL) around that time for the first time. Before that, I've only seen the Internet like at a few houses of our friends and at the library and maybe a few other places. So, I've been able to surf the net, the world wide web, possibly before 1998 but only for like a few minutes total, combined. Saw my mother order or check out or look up books on the black and white library computers which were connected to some kind of library inter-webs. I first saw that in maybe 1991 as far as I can remember or maybe between 1991-1998 for the first time.

Inbox

I was homeschooled until high school in 2000. Around that time, I remember checking my yahoo email account around that time, especially before class each day. Our bus, number 23, would take us to school early, like 7:30 AM, and class started at 9:55 AM. I would sometimes eat breakfast in the school cafeteria with Eric Koelbl and other friends. But I would sometimes go to a computer lab to check my mail and I only had like ten minutes to check it, by the time I got there. Sometimes, I would check my inbox after school. This may have began in 2001 during my sophomore year.

Gradual

Over the years, I've gradually graduated from using a little bit of Internet to a lot. So, that includes inbox use. So, it began with like a few seconds, a few minutes, per month, or per week, and it went up to ten minutes a day online, and then maybe an hour, and now like 24/7 lol. Over the years, I've had many email accounts. YouTube banned two of my channels. I've been censored. I've been through a lot these past twenty one years or longer. So, my one Google email account (Gmail) has like 200,000 emails. That is a lot. I also have a Proton Mail account.

You Got Mail

I will never forget that AOL voice message, I mean that thing you hear when you get mail, and also that Tom Hanks movie as well. That is what I think about when I think about inboxes. Also, I kind of thing about snail-mail inboxes as well a little as well.

Screenshot at 2019-05-15 22:19:34.png

@mariannewest

Day 573: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: inbox

Sort:  

Cool story! I remember the early days of being on “the modem” back then. With a landline phone attached to a box!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah. That's right and we got this line splitter so you could do AOL and talk on the phone at the same time in maybe 1999 or after that. That was amazing. Dialing up was an exciting thing.

yeah it was mad cool! sifi future! haha

I had to think about “you got mail” as well 😀👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is like from another lifetime ago. Twenty years is a pretty long time. The world has been introduced to a bunch of new tech since then. So, we are like zooming by like Sonic the Hedgehog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33