Writing Prompt Contest: A Purple SquirrelsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago


Dinner is done
I am in the kitchen cleaning up
Putting dinner away
Washing the dishes
Cleaning the counter

When I hear a sniffle

Of course my mommy ears perk right up
I go in search of that sniffle
and I find it in my 7 year olds room

Whats wrong Riley?
Do you need help building your legos?

No, I got it already. Its just...

What? Its just what? Did something happen?

He looks at me with tears slowly filling his eyes
just breaking my heart

Jimmy said I can't be a Ninja when I'm grow'd up and its not fair.

Relief spreads over me as I realize this is what has upset him.

Oh he did? And why not? If you work hard and train you could be the best Ninja there ever was. Maybe Jimmy just doesn't know the secret.

The secret! Whats the secret...tell me...

The secret Riley, is, you can be whatever you want to be. No one can tell you what you can and cannot be. That will always be up to you. If you put your mind to it you could be the number one bestest Ninja the world has ever seen!

His face lights up with this huge smile that just fills my heart to the brim. He comes in for a big hug and I ask him...

So what are you gonna say the next time Jimmy asks what you are gonna be when you grow up?

and without hesitation as if a light bulb went off at that very second...he told me, as happy as could be..

A PURPLE SQUIRREL!!! Cuz I can be what I want!

and he laughs and laughs and I laugh along with him.

Sure can buddy. If thats what you really wanted...I know you could make it happen.


golden-mantled-ground-squirrel-4588__340.jpg

Please UPVOTE and FOLLOW @JJwriter85

if you like what you see
and keep an eye out for more!

If you would like to join us with our #freewrite journey
check this out:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/writers-or-wanna-be-writers-wanted-be-free-freewrite

and if you would like to jump in right here with this prompt
click here:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-19-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-a-purple-squirrel

The more the merrier Steemians!

RESTEEM


and spread the word!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jjwriter85! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jjwriter85 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66239.71
ETH 3448.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61