#freewrite DAY 18 “something left at the front door”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago


I finally had some time to sit and edit my photos
Look through some Steemit posts
Read some of the book I’ve been working on for weeks

Then I look down at my phone and I have a missed call
Thats weird
I guess I’ve been so busy I didn’t even notice the flashing

Missed call from MOM CELL
And a voicemail

Ok I’m thinking I already know what the voicemail says
Same thing it always says

“Why do you have a phone if you never answer it Cyndi”

I shake my head and giggle
Of course I didn’t catch it once again
I press play to confirm
And it’s my Dad...

“Hey Cyndi it’s me and your mom. I need to talk to you about something. Can you give me a call back? I love you.”

Ok that’s strange
First of all Dad doesn’t call
And most certainly not as a group from moms phone

Something is up

I call back

“Hey! You called back!”

“Of course I did. I was doing stuff around the house and getting some me time in and didn’t notice you had called until now...what’s going on?”

“Well...remember that spot on my lung. They sent a biopsy to California for testing and the doctor got the results back. Turns out...it’s cancer”....

My heart starts racing
I start to sweat
I feel a panic

Then I remember my mom is on the line too
And I can’t panic
Then she will panic
Her blood pressure will rise and....

“You there?”

“Yeah I’m here sorry...the phone must have cut it for a second”

I realize right then and there what I must do
I leave my anxiety
My fear
My panic
All at the front door
And I step back into the conversation

“Ok so what’s the plan? It’s small right? Doctors think it should be taken care of in a couple of weeks...that’s great news! Mom...are you gonna go with him? I have all the faith in the world you got this Dad. Keep me updated and know I’m sending nothing but love and good vibes your way. I love you too Mom. Call me later if you need to talk”

That was Sunday
Mom called today to panic without my dad around
I knew it would happen
And once again

I left my fear at the front door
Held her hand from 600 miles away
And walked her away from hers
And into my house of

Hope
663B4779-7466-4FA1-A37D-61C01A3EE330.jpeg
My picture is from
https://pixabay.com

..........................

Thank you @mariannewest for doing these #freewrite contests
I have been trying to write and journal but just couldn’t figure out what to actually write
These are helping me get out of my head and put words down
Thank you

Sort:  

Congratulations @jjwriter85! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am so glad the prompts are helping you to write it down!! That is the purpose! I am assuming this is a true story? Is it current? Hugs to you. Cancer is such a thing...... I know, I had cancer.... Will be back with an upvote tomorrow. Thank you so much for writing with us!!

Yes true story and it is sad how everyone has either had cancer or knows someone with cancer. I am very glad you are here today despite your own battle with cancer :)

Thank you and double hugs to you. Hope your dad will do fine!

Yes I am sure to post when the treatment is done and all is well :-)

Is this just for the contest or some true story. amazing post

This was a true story and the prompt caught my attention and pulled me out of my daze

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jjwriter85 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49