Day 513 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: ceiling (staring at)

in #freewrite6 years ago

I often lie in bed, staring at the ceiling

Trying to decide what to do.
Should I get up or stay in bed a while longer?
If I get up in the middle of the night, I will most likely go open my
Fridge and look inside, only to close it without getting anything.
(I have this recurring dream image, that one day my fridge will
Come to my bedroom door, turn on the light, look around, then
Turn off the light, close the door then go away, I assume back to
The kitchen, only to return an hour or so later to look around again)

So many things I need to do, or could do with my time, that it becomes
Almost impossible to decide which one TO do first; a
"Procrastinators Nightmare"
I used to be king of the procrastinators, but for the last few years
I've made great strides to correct that, until recently, now I
Seem to have
BACKSLID.
I'm getting old it seems.

"Staring at the Ceiling"

by
Jerry E Smith
©3/17/2019
The above was written in exactly 5 minutes
image from pixabay
Interior decorative Wallpaper

Sort:  

I can emphasize with procrastination, Jerry. What a dream!

Posted using Partiko Android

ha! I love the image of the fridge coming to your door and checking things out.

Darn.... procrastination.... sounds familiar... :)

I am SOOOooo much better than I once was, but I'm not
"Johnny-on-the-spot"either. I try to be proactive now.

I am SOOOooo much better than I once was, but I'm not
"Johnny-on-the-spot"either. I try to be proactive now.

Haha! I know that feeling. Hey what did you do to improve your procrastinating? You can't be too much of one if you post all the time on steemit.

As I said, I used to be much better at not procrastinating, but that was
After being much worse for a lifetime prior to that.
During my years of alcohol and drug abuse, it was nothing for me to put
Off doing something, anything for days and days, then what had started
As a small thing, had become a very large thing taking a lot more
Time.
So when I got sober, washing the dishes became my "Poster event"
and now it is a pet peeve, I can't stand to leave dishes in the sink.
Even at my niece's house where I help out as caregiver, one of the things I'll do
Is to wash what dishes she has left in the sink. (not part of my duties)

Now that I am in such pain, and now that I have a dishwasher in my
New apartment, they will sit all day until I load them in the washer.
Basically I just put my foot down and said to myself (when I began
To say 'I don't feel like messing with that now') NO!! Don't put
It off, DO IT NOW

Thanks @janton

Howdy sir jerry! yes, willpower at first and then it becomes a habit after awhile. A good habit.

Congratulations @jerrytsuseer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58642.44
ETH 2294.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44