The Taste of Chicken - Freewrite.

in #freewrite7 years ago

I still remember the day that we moved into this old dilapidated house.

A real fixer upper, my dad had said.

Of course we didn't actually fix anything up because we were pretty broke. The divorce had cost my dad his nice house and most of his savings.

That's what you get for getting involved with a hussy.

I loved this run down house though.


Source: Giphy.com

There was a creek in the backyard and with slippery white stones in it. Our backyard was huge and every now and then you could see giant piles of dirt appear without reason. I always thought it just had something to do with the way the land worked.

I would have thought it was really strange now.

One day when I was playing in the creek I saw my dad pulling a bag out of the back of his dirty old pickup. He threw it in the garage and then went back to cooking dinner.

The next day there was another pile of dirt in the backyard. I pretended that creatures from outer space were creating the piles of dirt.

That night dad went into the garage and pulled another package of meat from the freezer.

Chicken again.

I swear we had a never ending supply of chicken. I have no idea how he filled up that freezer so often.

This contest is hosted by mariannewest

じゃあね

Sort:  

Yes-Thats-Awesome-Funny-Cool-Meme-Picture.jpg

I actually like this quite a bit.

The prose is simple and straight-forward (a compliment, as it fits with the narration).

I would have liked to read a bit more, but as is, it's quite enjoyable.

Ha ha ha ..... Funny

knowing all the freewriters and the dark, dark places everyone goes to - I don't even want to think of what is in the bags and what is for dinner..... love the gif :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-53-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-salty-air

Isn't it weird how everybody writes about dark stuff like this?

The ying and the yang..... If we are good in real life.... As fairy tales and the current fascination with real crime stories tells us - we need this. Maybe to be grateful that our reality is different!

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54