Surprise coming to you - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

I didn't know why they called it skeeball.

I thought it was because when you rolled the ball down the alley way it was kind of like a person skiing.

I'm sure now that isn't why they call it skeeball but I was just a kid after all.

Jonathan and I stood there with a handful of quarters throwing the little round ball again and again into the center hole.


Source: Giphy.com

We had decided that if you tried to throw it into the hole instead of rolling it you had a better chance of scoring.

Most of the other kids didn't like to play skeeball. Instead they preferred to play games like Dragon's Lair and other arcade style games.

It's not that we didn't like to play those kinds of games but we were all about winning tickets.

As an adult I know that it's pretty much impossible to win the PlayStation or whatever other giant prize they have behind the counter.

When you're a kid, though, you think maybe you can score a few points and walk out with something grand like a television.

Jimmy was turning 12 this year and all of us were gathered for a pizza party at the local arcade.

There was pizza and cake and cupcakes and a lot of other things that I probably wouldn't eat nowadays.

Jimmy and his parents were both on the heavier side and it seemed like they ate quite a lot of sweets.

I was pretty thin back then so I couldn't eat very much and I really wasn't interested in eating anyway.

At that point in time the only two things I was interested in was talking to girls and playing skeeball.

There were very few girls at this party though.

Jonathan and I concentrated on winning that PlayStation.

At the end of the day we had 4,000 tickets.

It wasn't enough for the PlayStation but it was enough to get the almost next biggest surprise behind the counter.

It was a giant circle that plugged in and looked like an electric basketball.

When we got home we were excited to see if it contained video games...... or what sorts of things were in store for us.

Jimmy didn't really want anyone else to play with it except for himself so we all had to try and take turns getting it away from him.

It was a fun game of keep-away.

When we finally got home we connected it to the back of the TV using an old style screwdriver.

When we turned it on a little light came on that said welcome to supercircle vision.

Please press continue to go upward.

Using the small included joystick I pressed continue.

I went upward.

We all did.

At first it seemed like we were going to crash into the roof of the house but instead we went right through it.

Upward upward upward.

Right into the spacecraft that was waiting for us.

There were thousands of other children in the spacecraft all screaming and crying.

The aliens strapped us down and we were on our way.

All in all it was a pretty good pizza party...... right up until the end.

I don't think anybody could say that Jimmy had figured out what his surprise was that night.

This contest is hosted by mariannewest

じゃあね

Sort:  

At first this story brought back memories of a very familiar pizza party at Gameworks.. good times. And then came the alien abduction.

I know exactly what you mean. It brought back memories of my first pizza party when I was abducted by aliens.

Nice story!

Great story with cool twists and turns I hope the aliens were good and kind

They were good skeeball players at the very least.

Sound slike it

Have a greta weekend and all the best for 2018

I want to write, but can't write. Now I think that I can do it, thanks to @jeezzle nice and more informative post.

Is this skeeball one of redemption game?

You are a best story writer here on steemit.

I always read your posts while traveling/

I travel a lot and i hope you may like my visit to Santa's official village-
Santa's Official Office in Finland - A heaven on earth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66