Frosting a cake - Freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

My wedding was one of the best days of my life. One thing I remember very clearly was the gigantic cake that my wife and I fed each other in front of a live audience.

It's a pretty standard thing to do at your wedding reception.


Source: Pixabay.com

It would probably have been pretty embarrassing if it weren't for the fact that I was very excited to be getting married. I didn't really pay attention to anyone else except for my wife at that moment.

She looked beautiful.

Her gleaming white wedding dress hugged her body like a glove.

The skirt was long and flowed like a flashy gown, but the bodice was kind of like a white lingerie teddy except that it wasn't see through.

The thin white veil clasped loosely around her long red hair, holding it in place.

Everyone laughed when, after attempting to stick a piece of cake in my mouth, she ended up smearing it all over my face.

I laughed too, it was pretty funny after all.

That reception was a blast. Everyone I knew came to it, and we all got good and drunk.

We ate, we danced, we did everything you could imagine, and then when it was really really late we left.

We had to stop and get gas on the way home.

I was driving a Cadillac that I had rented and it took us about 30 minutes at the gas station to figure out how to open the gas tank.

When we finally got home I was feeling quite exhausted but I was also ready to take off my tuxedo.

Of course, I was really excited at the idea of getting my new wife out of her wedding dress.

She was one of the most beautiful women I had ever met in my entire life.

We hadn't really started to argue at that point. Maybe a little bit, but nothing too bad.

The arguments didn't start for another few months.

I think sometimes people tell you things that you want to hear, and you're so eager to believe that those things are true that you accept them at face value even though they don't make any sense.

It took us a few years before we finally decided to get divorced.

That was a long time ago.

I think she might very well be the most beautiful woman I've ever seen in my life.

She had a thousand issues though.

Every now and then I think about our wedding day.

I think about that cake, and the frosting that got all over my face.

I think about everyone laughing, the drinking and the dancing, the gas station, taking her dress off, her eyes, her body, and I get lost in the plot once again.

It's easy to get lost there. I lived there after all, there in her eyes.

Now I'm here, in this small house, by this tiny window...... just listening to the wind.

Sometimes I hear it calling her name, but I know it's just the memory of a frosting on a cake on a sunny summer afternoon.

Sort:  

nice writting bro and lovely story .😊

Quite interesting story. Marriage is the most beautiful moment which comes in everyone life but my heart breaks down when i hear about divorce.
I want to eat those frosting cakes 😂

Your story really breaks my heart!!!
But life is just like that cake, sweet and tasty at a moment and once its finished, there is nothing more, but memories of that taste!

Yummy frosting cake, yeah wedding day is the most memorable day for life.
sweet memories :)

Thanku for sharing..

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Another beautiful story. I felt like I was sitting by the window with you, listening to you tell me the story about one of the best days of your life. It's also interesting that you still consider it so, even though the marriage ended.

nice post sir. restemeed and upvote..

You just serve up some sweetly frosted melancholy.
Just in case you didn't know, here's today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-145-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-deodorize

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67462.12
ETH 2623.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67