Day 24: 5 minute freewrite - "Lemony character" prompt

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

This short piece is my entry in the #freewrite challenge, by @mariannewest. Freewriting is a wonderful way to turn off your overly-critical editor brain and loosen up your writing voice. I find that I write all kinds of things that may or may not inspire me to write more. This is a one-time, just-for-fun piece, but I really enjoyed writing it. I stopped exactly at the five-minute buzzer.

You can see Day 24 here. Each prompt provides information on the series.

Lemon Lady

LemonLady.png
Image credit goes to the talented @barbara-orenya!

Karina set down her pen. She had finished another drawing, and sat staring at it, smiling quietly.

Her mother looked over her shoulder. “Tell me about your drawing,” she said. She was a little worried, when she thought about it. Karina was an interesting child. She had always dabbled in art, creating fanciful creatures in mythical settings.

“I know her,” Karina said. “She is Lemon Lady.”

“That’s interesting,” Jen said. “How do you know her?”

“She visits me. We talk. She is my friend.”

“Ah. I see. You have a very active imagination, darling.”

Karina looked at her mother then. “Mom, she’s real. I see her all the time. We walk in the Sarr Forest and she tells me of the Ren People.”

Jen didn’t know what to say. She wished her daughter could just be an artist. Just create art. Not lose herself in it. She wondered if she should take her for counseling.

“There!” Karina said. “Behind you.”

Time's up!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

here is today's :) ### Barbara asked me to let you all know the following: You may use the picture in your post but MUST give credit to Barbara @barbara-orenya and also link to her original post. This is the link: https://steemit.com/writing/@barbara-orenya/express-your-fancifulness-from-this-visual-prompt-whimsical-writing-challenge-

Today’s prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-25-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-bubbling

Thank you @mariannewest! I've updated the post with the image credit. I absolutely love it, @barbara-orenya. You are extremely talented.

Good job! Thanks to @barbara-orenya you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14298.94. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

This is lovely Jayna !
it reflects the worries parents have when their children let talk their imagination ;-) whereas I am glad when mine are expressing their fancifulness, as for me it is the innerbeing expressing itself, expressing its cheerful and loving nature and we absolutely have to let that be our most precious treasure, instead of believing in the supremacy of the mind ...
creativity is the path to our soul ^_^
Thanks for your writing and creativity

cat&birdbeautifulday.png

Thank you, @barbara-orenya! I'm so pleased to be getting acquainted with you and your beautiful artwork!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63242.16
ETH 3422.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41