5-Minute Freewrite Weekend Single Prompt: Yesterday

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I stared at her for a long long time. Fixated, to be exact. She was the epitome of beauty and character. No one... No one was like her! I watched as she sat down on a bench at the park. I couldn't believe people passed by without even taking a glance. I wish I had the courage to come close and finally talk to her. But the very thought of it dried my throat and made my body go numb.

Yes, I am a shy person; maybe even fearful. I can't even approach a normal stranger without my heart pounding, my entire body sweating and, my head screaming for me to run. Run and never look back. I had been to a couple of therapists with no progress at all. What a sad plight, what a sad fate.

Time and people passed by.

I must talk to her today! Yes, today! I repeated this a thousand times then I stood up and started my slow agonizing journey towards the bench she sat on. Stop! Turn Back! You're a fool for thinking you can do this!

I ignored all instincts. I was going to do this! I had to!

I came closer and closer till I finally stood directly in front of her. I couldn't bring myself to meet her eyes. Without a word, I sat down beside her. Then finally I began talking, "Hello Rachel, my name is Arthur."

She was silent.

"I wanted to talk to you a long time ago."

Still no reply

"I hope I don't freak you out but I have feelings for you"

The silence was now screaming in my ears.

"These stored feelings have now overwhelmed me and I must now share it with you."

...screaming so loud it started to hurt

"I know it's too late, but I hope you can hear me"

Hot chunks of tears fell freely from my eyes.

"I know you left this world for a better one. But still, I hope you hear me."

I was sobbing uncontrollably in the middle of the park. People gave me the occasional glance of concern but I didn't care. Not anymore.

I tried to compose myself. In time, I calmed down a bit. With a big and heavy sigh, I offered my last thoughts to her.

"I love you, Rachel. We may never see tomorrow together but I will cherish the last moment I shared with you from a distance. Farewell!"

I stood up and walked up the road towards the sunset. At the top of the hill, I looked back.

Every day I still do.


Thank you for reading the freewrite. @mariannewest gives a daily prompt and we step up to the challenge.

Join in the fun!

Rules for the 5-Minute Freewrite
• Set your timer for 5 minutes.
• Start writing
• Use the hashtag #freewrite
• Publish your piece or post as a reply to the respective prompt post @Mariannewest.
• If you decide to publish it, drop the link at the prompt post here.

Read other 5-Minute freewrite and tell us what you think!
Photo credits to Pixabay.
Follow @isaganispeaks for more poetry, freewrite, medical history and, health blogs.


Are you a writer with no place to call home? The Isle is looking to adopt all you wonderful people! Click our logo below to find us in discord.

IOW COLOR LOGO.png

Sort:  

'Yes, I am a shy person; maybe even fearful. ' - This happens to be the biggest problem when we think about approaching someone. It is hard to play with someones feelings and emotions. Great text.

A sad reality. :)

Thank you!

Is he speaking to the sun or to someone who passed away?

Interesting approach to the story. I guess all interpretations are acceptable. :)

Great writing. A very nice scene. Thanks for sharing.

So tragically beautiful, I feel it in my heart.

Lovely sharing this with us...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IsaganiSpeaks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It's good that he was finally able to work up the courage to tell her how he felt.

Today I am hopping through the town of Freewrite on my brand new pogo-stick! It's super-powered by my desire read your awesome stories and deliver the prompt of the Goddess Marianne!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-93-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-fourth

Awesome. Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80