Solitude -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-131-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-solitude

Alone in a cabinet lies a little broken dish. It sits on a shelf at the top of stairs. A shelf that is forgotten, unwieldy, useless. There, for companionship, is only dust.

The shelf was installed in the fervor of a younger age. Every large family needed more space for things, and this space would keep the good china, that was only needed once a year at most. Dad would get out an odd ladder contraption that fit snugly into the steps and he would climb to retrieve the delicate dishes.

It has been years since that family lived here. They left the broken tea saucer forgotten. Forgotten by all except little Caroline, who broke it and put it back and hoped that no one would notice or at least know it was she who broke it. And perhaps they didn't. Perhaps they did. The little dish will never know, for it has sat, unknown and unknowing waiting for the dustbin or the glue.

Now a bright young couple with plenty of space for their pared down lifestyle of disposable and permanent and digital things live here. Their dishes go on the bookshelf, because the books are in their pockets on a cloud,

Sort:  

I like that last line especially! But I still prefer a book in my hand with paper pages.

Personifying a saucer..... I like it! You made me feel bad for a saucer, well played sir... I too like the last line, there is something empty and impersonal about the digital age..

It's just different. We'll find our sense of the personal in this age eventually, I'm sure.

I hope so, when I'm in the pub, and 62% of people have their head stuck in a phone, or when people almost bang into me on the street, as they are head deep in their phone, I wonder about the digital age... But there is so much good and positive also, which more than outweighs some of the ills... Like anything I suppose, a balance..

Yeah. I don't know what the future will be like. But I think our need for the personal will find its expression somehow.

Ya, I are extremely adaptive as a race, so you are hopefully right..

Their dishes go on the bookshelf, because the books are in their pockets on a cloud

Yes! I loved this one too. It's funny, it's visual and it's true. What else do we need in a phrase?

Thank you.

Poor old dish, I fear he’s for the bin and not the glue.

It’s your Wednesday prompt delivery service here with todays challenge:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-132-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-gardening

Or he'll be forgotten and buried with the rest of the apartment when the whole thing is torn down to make way for highrises.

"Their dishes go on the bookshelf, because the books are in their pockets on a cloud,"

Amazing use of modern day internet jargon to create a vivid, whimsical poetic image. Beautiful write :)

Thank you. I was rather pleased, myself, when those words appeared on the screen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70