Sequence -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-436-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-sequence

How many of you are writing about the game, Sequence, a game I thoroughly do not enjoy.

I mean, I guess it's better than just chatting with people. I hate not playing a game. That's the worst. But Sequence is a game of no consequence. I think. Am I wrong? I feel like there's no strategy involved. Am I wrong? Someone tell me if it's just so strategically deep that I don't get it.

I know Go is that way. I don't understand the strategy of Go, but I know that it's one of the most, if not the most, strategically deep games ever invented. I don't really know how to play, though. Someone taught me once, and I did NOT catch on. I like chess. It's easy enough for my brain to process chess, and understand where I need to improve my chess skills, and so on. But Go... I just.. enough about Go. This post is about sequence.

Except I don't have a lot to say about Sequence. I really do want someone to tell me if I'm missing something. Also Uno. Is there something I'm missing about Uno? I know that there's something I'm missing about rummy/gin/gin rummy.

One of the things I'm missing is, is there a distinction between the three? There are three different ways I've been taught it, and it's all about picking up cards from the discard. Tell me if that's the distinction, and if so, which is which:

  1. You can only pick up the top card of the discard.
  2. You can pick up a pile from the discard, but you must immediately use the card that was the deepest of the cards.
  3. You can pick up as many cards as you want from the discard, and when you play, you play out your entire hand at once. No. That's wrong. Maybe that's the version that goes with the first one? Ugh. I don't know about this.
Sort:  

I love Sequence. And there certainly is strategy involved. There is a multitude of options with each card you play. There are always several ways to try to complete your own sequence and you also have to chose between working on your own sequence while keeping an eye on your opponent and blocking their sequence. It gets even more interesting when you play partners. I do like Chess as well but I'm not that good at it, my father-in-law always wins. I get so busy plotting my attack that my defense suffers.

I'll give it another try.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @improv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

you are very right about the card games. It is always about choosing nd discarding

I learn something new everyday and today I learn there's a game called Sequence
Fabulous 2019 to you @improv
I have come with a prompt

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Click On Me For Prompt👇🏿

IMG_9525.JPG

And don't forget to swing on over to the @FreeWriteHouse, to win some SBI shares

@improv Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34