Magical Realism -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-482-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-magical-realism

Boop. Timer. It goes off only at the moment that it shouldn't. It knows this, and only turns down when you aren't paying attention. No. It's the opposite of a pot on a hot stove. It only goes off when you are looking. Because you told yourself you won't look, and then you do. And then it goes off.

Boop boop. You've failed. The whole test was to see if you could go the whole time without looking at the timer. You knew this, and you looked anyway, thinking that the timer was broken? Well phooey on you. You lose. And because you lose, now all your dreams won't come true. That's not magical realism, that's magical pessimism.

Ha. That's fun. I'm not a magical optimist, I'm a magical realist. Ha. I love it as a book genre. My first experience with Magical realism, I think, was The Fairies of New York... though there are really fairies for sure in that book, so is it magical realism? Stina's @stinawog's book is definitely magical realism, though. For sure for sure.

And my Gentle Werewolf storyline... Kind of Magical Realism, I think.

Anywhoodles. I'm very glad that I'm back in that world and writing more. Oh, you didn't know? It's true. Do you know @jeezzle? He is spearheading a project by which a number of us, writing short stories, will publish them in a steem anthology. toot toot

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Do you know @jeezzle? He is spearheading a project by which a number of us, writing short stories, will publish them in a steem anthology.
Cool! This must not be via @thewritersblock - last I read, they're only looking at books, not short stories. I need to keep up with Steemit!!

Correct!

Posted using Partiko Android

I sure need to find out more on books or stories on magical realism. Not quite get it yet. And then @jeezzle?got to check it out.


Also, I am here to deliver the next prompt to you. Here it is, check it out! It is 'double time'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48