Junk -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-36-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-junk

And big thanks to @mariannewest for pointing people at the pun contest! It's not too late to sign up for this week!

Junk. That big or is it small? Ocean-going vessel. I think I'd have made a mighty fine sailor. Not nowadays. I've no interest in doing a very specific little thing. I've no interest in being a cog. But a sailor, who stands on the rocking sea. Who sing seas shanties and encourages his mates to eat vegetables so they don't get scurvy. That's really what sailors do, right? I'd want to be the cook on an ocean-going vessel.

Oh, reminds me of a story I heard when I was kid listening to a tape I had... I think it was Dr. Demento. One of the folks told this story. He'd worked years ago on ... something. Maybe on building a railroad? Or in a lumber camp? Somewhere far away from the rest of civilization, and the rule was, if you complained about the cooking you had to be the cook. Well it so happened that whoever was cooking really didn't want to be the cook, so he wanted to make food bad enough that someone would complain so that he had to be the cook. Well, he went out and collected horse droppings, and baked them into a pie. And another fellow, who also didn't want to be the cook took a big bite of horse turd pie, and then shouted. "This tastes like horse sh&*!... ... ... ...it's good, though."

Definitely an excellent twist on potty humor. Potty humor is not my favorite, but I'll take it when it comes wrapped in a bundle of specificity and interesting working class plot.

Speaking of specificity. I love when people consistently fulfill their promises. Big ups to @mariannewest for promising daily posts and delivering. The real test comes if/when others stop responding. I run a weekly contest. For a while, we had ever increasing numbers of participants. Lately, most have evaporated (not @doctorcrypto, though! And @paul.atreides is pretty reliable, too!)... but I will maintain my two weekly posts. I prove my consistency to myself that way. Plus, soliciting puns amuses me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69