Idiot -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-369-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-idiot

Idiot!
Schmidiot!

This is a naughty word. It really is. I know this. Well, I don't know if I would have known this otherwise, but I'm especially certain of this because when I read to kids, they gasp if "idiot" or "stupid" occurs in the book, no matter what the context, really. Fascinating. And they aren't necessarily upset with the character that said it. They're shocked that I said it. Like, if any other naughty word were in a book, it would take you out of the story, and make you go, "I can't believe I was read a book with that word in it." Which is what I find noteworthy about this whole situation.

I think, of course, that to call someone or even something "stupid" or "idiot" is rude and not useful, of course. But I'm not surprised that characters do it. They lash out, and I don't think of the words themselves as carrying that kind of emotional weight that other no-no words do. Like, the word itself I think of as just rudely descriptive. Not an epithet. That's what I was looking for. I don't think of them as epithets.

But kids have learned those words as epithets. Maybe it's no different, really, from how I expect them to learn those words. A parent hears a child calling someone "stupid" and says, "we don't say that about people", and the kid, instead of learning why it's rude, just learns that it's forbidden (like the f-word, and so on)

Time. But you see where I'm going. You can finish this train of thought for me.

Sort:  

I know exactly what you're talking about! Another word that draws gasps today is crap. As kids we said, "I don't give a crap," nearly constantly.

wow... I wish the kids where I live were that polite! Including my son lol

And that's another reason I don't have kids! 🤣

Resident mail man with a Special Delivery:
Webp.net-compress-image__1540446451_75.1.212.152.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-370-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-not-in-my-neighborhood

Congratulations @improv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by improv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75