Halcyon Days -5minutefreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-576-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-halcyon-days

Huh. I think I thought that word was Halcyan. But now that I'm looking at it, clearly that's wrong.

And I know that not just because it's underlined in red by the word spelling checker that follows me around everywhere.

Honestly, can you believe that there was once a time when spellchecker was a thing you had to run on your document? And before that, the only spellchecker you had was a human being?!?

Can you believe there once were not inanimate objects that sent electrical pulses to tell you what the world was like? I'm thirsty.

Were those the Halcyon days? By the way, I mostly don't believe in halcyon days. Truth is, we do a good job of fuzzying up the past so that it looks prettier. I think there are things we can learn from the past, sure, but it wasn't BETTER. I mean, wages were statistically higher. That's true. And my parents could afford a house, which I can't.

Hm. Was the past better? Or was there something else that... anecdotes! You know them, you love them. You use them to try to prove your points.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

And I am sure a children will soon afford a house his or her parent afford

I doubt it. The world has changed. My mother made $12/hr in 1977 as a checker at a grocery store, which is more than $45 adjusted for inflation. The same job at the same place now pays $11.50.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I see you are right also on that aspect

The difference is, my mom belonged to a union, and the bosses have been able to turn workers against unions and break them. We need strong labor unions so we can organize our struggles for a living wage.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @improv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59