Gut reaction -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-545-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-gut-reaction

Gut reaction. My gut reaction to other people's stress is my own stress. I mean, I feel their pain. It's mildly useful empathy, in that it motivates me to help them find a resolution. But sometimes it gets in the way, because I feel anguish that can sometimes be distracting.

Distracting. I'm feeling better now. The person I helped was helped to find their resolution by another, and everybody is happy.

It's not that it's distracting per se, but I feel such a need to not make it worse, that sometimes I don't have the sense to take a breath and go looking for more information before I start to help, nor do I spend time explaining to someone else what is wrong and what I'm trying to fix it. Sometimes this is probably appreciated. I know when I call a customer service rep, I just want them to fix my problem, I don't care how, and they ALWAYS explain to me what they're doing, and I really don't want them to. But it's possible that if I explained to others what's happening they'd be feeling better about the amount of time it's taking.

Oh. That's time.

Anyways. I am smart enough to know when I'm distracted and suggest they talk to someone who knows more than I do. And I did put them in contact with that person, and now everything is resolved.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You are such a kind and helpful person. =)


Also, I am here to deliver the next prompt, if you haven't checked it out, here it is ➡️ 'school house'. Thank you for writing with us. 😊

Don't forget to join more awesome contests at the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by improv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

@improv Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34