Fried Chicken

in #freewrite7 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-119-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-fried-chicken

Oh boy. I'm hungry for some fried chicken. You know that I know the granddaughter of the founder of Popeye's? Yes indeedy. SHe gets a card everymonth that's good for more fried chicken than one person could ever eat. Oh, it's good stuff. Can I tell you what I think is a funny story? My wife, @stinawog is a vegetarian. We went to popeyes. "Oh, I'll just get sides". So she asks, "The beans, do they have meat in them?" "...they're beans." "but do they have meat in them? I don't eat meat" "It's just beans. No meat." "Okay, I'll get the beans."

She gets the beans. There's ham in them.

"These have meat in them. I'd like to return them."
(calling over her shoulder) "She says the ham is meat!" (manager rolls her eyes) "give her the money back."

In what world is ham not meat? I mean, I get having meat in the beans, and maybe even being exasperated at a vegetarian. I don't agree with it, and @stinawog was entirely polite and just asking the questions she needed answers to to know if she could eat something.

But ham is always meat.

Sort:  

I love to hear about the growing number of vegetarians in the world, that means that there is more fried chicken and ham available for me! 😉

What a wonderful way to think about it :P

So we both know friends in high places. (lol)

I was friends with a general manager of popeyes and she would deep fry her turkey for thanksgiving. It was delicious, shed just let herself into the building, deep fry the turkey, and then take herself back home to share.

Yeah, last I knew, ham was meat. Unless somebody changed the rules and didn't tell us. I do feel sorry for vegetarians, though; they are missing out on so much tasty food! But if they are happy, and/or feeling healthier, then good for them!

Are you for serious? You know the granddaughter of the founder of Popeye's chicken? Wow!

Service crews like that are total douchebags. What if a customer was deathly allergic to ham and they were served it after asking if there's meat. They think the customers are just hamming it up, but really though it was an oversight on their end.

People all have different understanding of meaning. I wonder if, upon rereading this, she meant that the beans don't come with a side of chicken? I dunno.

Meat is meat, no matter how you slice it. I don't think that it'll be misinterpreted as just chicken. Maybe meat could relate more to beef, but never chicken over ham.

Ha! But also, if you slice it thin enough, it just becomes various molecules that couldn't properly be called meat. Most of them are just water.

#1 - Wow! I'm surprised that manager still has a job after that AMAZING bit of customer service! #2 - The moment she said, "She says the ham is meat!" I would have been to afraid too finish my meal! If the staff can't tell what meat is, why are they serving food?

Today's prompts are brought to you by a frisky pack of gremlins. Please be advised, they are drunk and stealing everyone's spoons.

Freewrite Day 120 - Vitamins

Oh gremlins. I hope you don't get wet.

Ha! I'm wondering who fed Gizmo after midnight!

It was @snook, for sure.

LOL!! On what planet is ham not meat :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42