Dragon Breath -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-334-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-dragon-breath

Shalgarth, tall and handsome, strode into the fiddlery along the artisans walk in Morraw. There was nothing of subtlety to this man. He filled the doorway and announced his presence with a resounding, "I am Shalgarth, noble adventurer of Morraw, and I need a fiddler!"

Silence amongst the instruments. Then a harsh, whisper deep voice that belied the soft, youngish face of a dwarven lady. "I make fiddles, sir, you'll do best finding a fiddler in an inn." Though she said the words with a smile, Shalgarth couldn't help but believe this woman thought him a fool.

"I am no fool," he therefore said at a more reasonable volume, "You know all the greatest fiddlers in Morraw because they all get their fiddles from you. I need the greatest fiddler in all the land." But then he proclaimed again in an unnecessarily booming voice, "I HAVE A QUEST."

The dwarven lady sighed and asked, as if she'd said these words to a dozen fools before, "What is your quest?" She turned her back on him without waiting for the answer, and began delicately threading a bow with horsehair.

"I need the greatest fiddler in the land to play for the merchant Smarmly. He has a map to the great dragon of the west, and I have discovered this dragon's manna, fed to the World Tree, will fix the WORLD."

The dwarven lady glanced briefly over her shoulder, then, with practiced nonchalance said, "There's no such thing as dragons."

"I have it on very good auth-" Shalgarth could not finish his sentence before, without really knowing how, he had been ushered out the front door and left standing in the street. A chamberpot's contents, flung from the apartment above the shop hurried him on his way. Looking back, he just caught a glimpse of the dwarven lady locking her shop door in the middle of the day.


Oh, I'm excited to tell the rest.

picture source: one I took at comic-con
knight.jpg

Sort:  

"Move it along mister, we've heard it all before...."

I like your indirect ways of telling stories! I'll probably have another entry out sometime this week, but I am having fun keeping up with you in the meantime!

And the little lady is no fool either. : ) Good for her to send Shalgarth on his way. Looking forward to more of this story.

Resident cat here, surprised at this new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-335-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-death-on-the-table

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

I wrote the next section today, planning for it to be a freewrite, but when I got to the end of the chapter, I realized it had nothing to do with the prompt. So I'll have to write another ;)

Well that sucks. Are you sleep deprived again? : )

I never stopped, but that's not why. I was writing the story I wanted to write and it just never took a turn to death.

And I am pretty sure I am not the only one excited to read the rest.. so carry on 🐉

I wrote another section today! And I think I'm about to write yet another.

You know it is people like you who are the reason I never have a post out 😜 Everytime I log in there's even more I want to read. Next thing I know my time is up and I still didn't write anything.
I am going to see what I can do with that 5 min prompt, let the vp recharge. Maybe by then you will have the whole thing done.
Just teasing... I really do want to read the rest of it. I am loving how you give your characters personality. Wish I could get better at that.

Aw! That's sweet of you to say.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05