Burnt Skin -5minutefreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-677-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-burnt-skin

Oooo, Burnt Skin!

We were just talking about this a bit ago. It came up because a friend (we'll protect his anonymity, but he can out himself if he wishes) used coconut oil and claimed it was better than sunscreen. Well, he got a sunburn (which, considering he burnt under coconut oil means it should have smelled like curry).

I knew as I was saying it that I was being a bit of a skeptic, but I said, "I'd like to research that myself, but thanks for the tip!" about the coconut oil being a sunscreen.
Well, @stinawog researched it for me. Coconut oil blocks 20% of UV rays. Sunscreen blocks 97%. So...

And as for delicious burnt skin... I do like my chicken skins crispy. I confess I think my dad, when he roasts chicken, or maybe it was how my mom did it? Both of them... leave the skins slimy and kind of gross, IMHO. I love skin. But.. Yeah. It has to be crispy to be delicious.

Shall I tell you a story?

Once upon a time, there was a man who liked burnt skin on toast. He told all his friends about this miraculous discovery. He'd also use the grease from the bacon he'd fried to suffuse bread, then he'd fry the bread. It was a lot A LOT of fat. But it was so delicious that all his friends sung his praises. Then one day he tried to make this delicious dish and it just didn't work. He tried again. It still wasn't as tasty. What had gone wrong?

I'll tell you. This poor man had become his own worst nightmare. He had become...a vegan.

HORROR.

And so, all he ate anymore were these scrumptious blackberries he found growing on the side of the road.
Photo Credit me:
IMG_20180811_100838.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post was resteemed by minnowresteemr!

Send a min of 1 STEEM/SBD with Steemit link in memo for a resteem!

// You can support minnowresteemr by using one of your witness votes on untersatz! //

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

I want some of those blackberries ... picking them all over the place at this time of year!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44