#FREEWRITE: SWIMMING WITH THE DOLPHINS 🐬

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

117688FB-3058-4B09-B8B0-D442580317C9.pngPIXABAY

Here’s the funny thing about me and swimming with dolphins. I honestly can’t remember if I’ve ever really done it or if I’ve just had some very vivid dreams about it (night dreams and/or day dreams). It’s pretty weird if I think about it.
I don’t usually suffer from memory losses like that. I’m only 30, for crying out loud.
But swimming with dolphins is such a cool concept and so much used in books and movies that I might, just might, have phantasized about it a bit too much... either that or I’ve done it and it wasn’t as cool as I imagined it, so I ended up “filling in the blanks” with my fantasies.
It all probably comes down to that awesome thing you always see in movies and dolphin shows where the dolphins push you behind the soles of your feet and make you “fly” over the water. I’m sure I’ve never done that, at least. So I’ve either never done the whole swimming with thing or I’ve done it but it didn’t feel complete without the push-flying thing.
Of one thing I’m sure, though. That push-flying thing is definitely much harder than they make it look.


Surfing through SteemIt, the other day, I stumbled upon what I thought was a fun and interesting concept. Users @mariannewest and @improv have created a creative writing contest called the Daily Prompt 5 minute Freewrite. Check out their introductory post.

This is how it works:

  • each day, either @mariannewest or @improv will publish a post giving a prompt
  • you set a timer for 5 minutes, sharp
  • you write until the timer rings, without looking back or rereading
  • you publish what you wrote (as a post or as a comment to the prompt) under the tag #freewrite
  • you link back to your post under the original prompt post, to share your writing with everyone else

To me, that sounds pretty cool. It’s a way of keeping up with SteemIt, with writing, and with writing in English (not my first language), especially on those days when I have nothing ready to post.
Today was one of those days and I thought I should give it a try. The prompt, as my title suggests, was SWIMMING WITH THE DOLPHINS. At first I though “what a shame, I’ve go nothing to say on that”. Then I realized that tomorrow’s prompt might not be any different, and I had to start somewhere, after all. And then again... have I really got nothing to say on that topic?! I still don’t know whether I’ve swam with dolphins or not. As you’ll never know what I was about to say about that push-flying trick, because that’s when my timer went off.

I apologize for phantasized. I had a stupid moment in which I couldn’t remember how to spell that, and by the time it came back to me with “fantasies” I was too late to go back and correct it.

This was fun! I thank the two creators and I’m looking forward to doing it again soon.

Sort:  

Maybe you were a kid and a Dolphin bit your ass when you were swimming close by ..regressive hypnosis would work to understand if you lived it or not :-P

Bwahahah!! If I did do the dolphins thing, it was during an Hawaii trip in October 2004 (I was studying abroad in Oregon, the family hosting me took a family trip, and I tagged along, much to my mother’s envy). We did a bunch of activities over there and I know dolphins were one of the options. I was 17 at the time, though, so old enough to remember 😝

It’s the third time, this week, that I’ve heard/read about regressive hypnosis. I don’t think I’ve got unresolved issues to ascertain... but it might be a sign I should give it a try!

That's a sign of the destiny! Unless you prefer to not uncover the famous Pandora's box..we can never know where playing with our psyche may lead us buahaha ;-P wow I'm honored ..thank you so much for your great translation @imcesca ! I will put it in my next freewrite and quote you. In the meantime please accept a humble tip 😉

really smart writing and this picture means a lot.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @imcesca to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $36.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60531.60
ETH 2905.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33