#FREEWRITE: Pasta 🍝

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

73DD1A1B-5EE1-45EC-8EE5-9A0A492D2AC0.jpegIMCESCA

Pasta.

What should i say about pasta?

This should be easy, right, as I’m Italian and all.

But how do you condense in 5 minutes something that’s so intrinsically part of your culture and life?

Well, there’s one major thing I can say, and it’s a good a time as any to say it. A public service announcement from your regular Italian gal, if you like. Here it goes.

PUT SALT IN THAT FRIGGIN’ WATER

That’s it. That’s what will make or break your pasta. Water must be cooked in boiling, SALTED water. Putting salt on the pasta after it’s cooked, or in the sauce, is simply not the same. So repeat after me...

I WILL, HENCEFORTH, ONLY COOK PASTA IN SALTED WATER

Thank you for reading.

Oh, my time’s not up yet. Well, what else to say. My favorite pasta is normally short. I love farfalle. But then again, I can’t deny that the best pasta ever is my grandma’s tagliatelle. When I was still in the womb, every Wednesday my grandma would make tagliatelle, and my mom ragout. Then they’d drink a glass of red wine with it and I would spend the most peaceful afternoon of my whole week.
I can’t remember any of that, of course. But a meal still doesn’t get any better than that, for me. Unless you add my boyfriend’s steak tartare in the mix...


I was planning on publishing a regular post today. But then life got in the way, and I didn’t have time to finish that. Also, skipping today’s prompt seemed disrespectful. To my grandmother, at least.

As I said in yesterday’s post, I’m participating in a #freewrite project in which the two authors, @mariannewest and @improv, give a specific prompt each day and each participant has exactly 5 minutes to expand on it. No more, no less. And no revising. What’s written is written and you’re free to publish it as a post, as a comment on the original prompt, or not publish it at all.

I don’t know whether I’ll be consistent in my daily participation, but so far it’s a fun exercise and I’m also enjoying reading other people’s freewrites.

Thanks again to the two project creators.

You can find the introductory post here and today’s prompt thread here.

By the way, that picture up there is not of my grandmas tagliatelle, of course. That’s a plate off spaghetti with sea urchins that my boyfriend cooked last week. Delicious!
Also, he loves taking picture of people when they eat (me, specifically).

Sort:  

Yes, salt in the water is critical. I enjoyed your Freewrite!

Thank you! 😄

Yes!! Salt in the water!! and take it out in time. Telling you - some people cook it to a mush..... such a cute picture of you!! And write with us when you can. :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-41-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-the-goat-ate-my

Ciao! E con te, siamo in tre italiani (tutti dalla provincia di Venezia!) a partecipare al freewrite challenge. Cosa posso dirti...come il mio amico @f3nix, anche tu sei una vera pasta-nazi, il che è un bene. Invece, io ...ehm...
Comunque benvenuta! Ti seguo!

Ahahahah!! Appena letto 🤣 DISONORE!!!! Comunque anche a me piace il pesto mischiato al pomodoro...

Buahahahahahah..roflmao....I can hear you! Put salt in the bloody water! Strangely I started giving advice in my freewrite too...almost with the same attitude. I think it's normal in the end. Con quelle profanazioni e sconsacrazioni della pasta a cui abbiamo assistito! Cazzo mi viene da scrivere come se fossi il papà di gianluca nei soliti idioti..pensa che ho dovuto moderare ed editare molto il mio post perchè al pensare alla pasta "armando" (coccolone in arrivo) mi era partito l'embolo! hahahah..fortunatamente non si è offeso nessuno. I think it would be good to even add...don't put the pasta in the pot from the beginning! :-PPP

Già... pensare alla pasta cucinata all'estero mi fa partire il “ho visto cose” ché i bastioni in fiamme possono accompagnare solo 😂
Ho visto che che tu hai colto l’opportunità educativa del prompt: approvo! 😜

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $39.13 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34