The Silent Killer (Freewrite: Prompt - Cancer)

in #freewrite6 years ago

There was an era in my life when my circle of friends were terrified by a silent killer called cancer. This was due to many of their family members or relatives passed away from cancer. Like a series killer - one by one.

image
Designed by using Canva's app

So at school, we would receive news from one friend about their family member who died of this cancer. Then next week, we heard from another friend (or the same friend) about another relative who lost the fight to cancer.

What caused us to be very affected and broken-hearted was not just about the passing away, but the months or even years of the patient's debilitating chemotherapy effect on their body. We witnessed them getting weaker, thinner to the extent of only skin wrapping the bones, losing hair and appetite and eventually losing their life to the monster.

However, as I grew in my faith and relationship with God, I also witnessed some people who battled with cancer and they won, not without the suffering. Cancer patients have always been led to believe that their recovery journey will be hellish - one which requires alot of courage and resilience, if without, one might lose the fight.

Hence, my heart always goes out to cancer patients. Cancer, according to many, is an illness without mercy. It attacks not only the old, but it seems to devour babies too. The science and medical technology are persistently doing research and finding better ways to cure it, so that chemotherapy is not the sole option.

My friend, Shawn (not the real name) fought his cancer (lymphoma) and won. I had first hand information to the misery and torture a cancer patient had to go through. But his zeal to live on has since then become an inspiration to many.

Another woman who had won the battle is my favourite worship leader, Darlene Zschech. She had her routine body check up and found out she had breast cancer. After the battle, she emerged stronger than before, even more passionate in what she is doing to reach out to the world with love and hope.

My own aunt (my father's sister) lost her fight to lungs cancer. Till now, I am praying that there will be a better solution to treat cancer. Some say to go on natural food, instead of chemo. Well, let us not give up hoping and praying.


In the midst of battling cancer, Darlene came out with a powerful song. Now my 2nd son truly loves this song, he is 4 years ago battling his CDH complication, I have learned to tell him that he is healthy but is fighting a compromised health issue 😜. Feel free to listen to the song as she was also ministering to cancer patients.

image

DQmQddJkLjrpSiVdZQzkZsXGfxttKQrimEFZ4obdGBrhiBa_1680x8400.png

If you do not know what freewrite is, it is a plan by @mariannewest and @improv to just free flow write out our thoughts, where there is no fear of whether what we write is good or not. Just relax and have fun and write in that 5-minutes-time. Here is the introductory post. Come on, you can start joining and have fun too! ☺ And now we have @freewritehouse, yay! Have a visit and you will not regret it!

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

Sort:  

That is such a powerful song. The authority that emerges everytime I listen to this song is very uplifting!!! Indeed this cancer thing is very annoying and I'm glad Jesus' name is higher than its name!

Yes as annoying as it can be, good thing we have Jesus to look to. :)

Beautiful piece hon. It is truly tragic how many lives Cancer ruins these days. :( I love that song! I recall you sharing it on one of my track of the day posts previously.

Wow you remember although I myself almost forgot about it until you mentioned. Yes, I truly hope there is a hope for the cancer patients soon. Thank you @jaynie 💕

likewise hon xxx

Such a beautiful and powerful song. I lost my sister to cancer too and I still miss her every single day.

I am so sorry to hear that @viverridae. Giving you virtual hugs.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

My fav song too!!

Like a series killer - one by one

What a terrible time it must have been for you!

I would think of an environment heavily polluted by carcinogens, my mind searches for a logical explanation for such a high incidence!

I'm glad many have survived and now this is a source of strenght for you everybody!

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community

Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

Today we remind you of this fantastic initiative:

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite


presents%20(4).png

Thank you @marcoriccardi for the prompt. :)

Thanks for sharing this heartfelt piece. Ben's mom lost her life to cancer and he misses her till this very day. Tho' it is sad but we are comforted by the truth that God is higher and that we will one day see her again in her glorious form.

I hear you @iamjadeline as my sister has cancer and is undergoing treatment and having to see her lose her hair and get so thin and frail is really heartbreaking xx

Yes & Amen! I'm so glad that Jesus's name is higher than all diseases that has a name, including CDH. Such encouraging testimonies above! We continue to speak supernatural healing & miracle to come upon Jansen's body, in Jesus name! ❤

Beautiful song.

Leading a healthy lifestyle and faith in god is always the best. I dreamed one day that no one will suffer from this devastating illness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40