freewrite 2: Introverts versus potted plants

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Ok, Timer started, and let’s go

I’m trying to free write every day, just to see how it goes. I kinda like the feel, and, while I won’t make the most money, this is STEEM, so monetization for minnows is pretty much a lost cause.

Anyway. I read recently that putting a stopwatch/timer on while you type is a great way to improve productivity, though personally looking at that 2 min 17 sec just makes me feel pressured. But I’m trying, so we’ll see what happens.

Umm… hoping I don’t blank out here. I recently read an article on steemit (I’ll check up the exact source afterwards) which said that introverts have a lot of ideas for writing on steemit because introverts constantly have conversations with themselves. I don’t know though, that might just be for typing up afterwards, not for in the moment, stream of consciousness like I’m doing right now. Alos I’m not entirely sure I’m an introvert.

Yeah, I know that statement sounds riddiculous. How do I not know if I’m an introvert? But alas it is sadly true. A couple of months ago my cousin (in law) commented that in chinese element I’m either a fire/water or a water/fire. For those who don’t know (I didn’t before he explained it to me) there are five chinese elements, each representing a different personality type, and the first one being the more important/main aspect to your personality. For example those with a main metal element can be defined as immensely organized. In this case, fire represents extrovertedness and outgoingness (among other thing) whereas water represents introvertedness. Hmm… You see my conundrum.

I actually see it in the way I behave - I can spend hours talking, conversing, arguing in a way an introvert couldn’t, but I also need a few hours of alone time to read and/or simply think in a way an extrovert wouldn’t. Or perhaps more significantly I could go days without human contact, simply reading and thinking and be perfectly happy. Be that as it may, I should probably get back on topic to… wait I’m not entirely certain what we were talking about before.

Umm… anyway that’s a nice painting over there isn’t it. Quickly ducks behind nearby potted plant as everyone turns to look at nonexistant painting. Well, I’m not quite that bad but, (wait a second, if the painting’s nonexistent, does that mean that the potted plant is also?… oops) well let’s see, I should probably introduce myself before I get too far too much further. My name is ———(yeah, I’m not sharing my name with a bunch of strangers…yet) and I joined steemit for the money for the experience. I’m mostly going to freewrite/ write blogs on whatever I’ve been thinking about recently (those will be more coherent) and yes, I am a complete weirdo.

Hyperbole out.

Footnote: oh oops the timer idea and the introvert idea are both from the same article - @digitaldreamer's how to create posts quickly Also - this article was typed up freestyle, again with no edits more than 3 seconds after something was typed, leading to a couple of spelling/grammar errors. It took approx. 20 minutes and 32 seconds to type, though I did open the document to type this after starting the timer, so the time is not exact.

Sort:  

Hello hyperbole! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

thank you for the helpful introduction, however, I'm just wondering why a comment on my post earned more than my post itself. seems like a bit of an oops moment from steemit.

It's not an official steemit thing. There are various parasites that create bots to do many things, e.g welcome new users but also and crucially vote their own comments. Magnify those small amounts by the thousands and well, you get the picture!

*Edit: and it didn't earn more than you now :0)

Greeting @hyperbole. Welcome to this wonderful community!! You'll meet great and amazing people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

Hello hyperbole!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Thank you for the support. (No I'm not going to abuse exclamation marks, though I will occasionally add an emoji ;)

Nicely written. Up vote and follow done. Please do check out my reviews on potential ICO's.

Nice, though it's not exactly my thing I can appreciate the effort which goes into your posts and the clear, concise, and well written articles. Best of luck and enjoy

That means a lot to me. Thanks a lot.

Welcome to steemit @hyperbole. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Welcome to Steem, @hyperbole!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3133 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.

Hello new person. I, too am new. You write as if you're just plain speaking. As an introvert such as yourself, I think we share the same talent.

This post made me realize I need to work a little more on my own posts. Good Job!

welcome to steemit. good luck and have a great prosperity

Posted using Partiko Android

Great attempt. I appreciate your effort. you are a newbie but you shared an interesting article. Hope so you will soon go up. Our support is always such hardworking guys. Best of luck

Thanks, and the same to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47