Laced with you (freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Tied to the lamp post of existence, we sit together, as two little birds, annointed by time. You sit on your end, and I on mine, as if nothing talked to us, about the other, and yet, as if everything did. You don't look when you think I'm seeing and I don't see you when you're not looking. I don't know how that works. Do your eyes have some magic device tampering with their inner-workings?
Are they stranger than everyone else's I've ever met, despite looking the exact same? They could be, but rather not. Possibly.
lantern-2223110_960_720.jpg
Image

We're bound together by lace, invisible lace, but maybe that is a good thing. Real lace would be breakable, or whatever fault lace has. Tearable, I suppose. But our lace is not, it can't be broken, because no one ever sees it. Not even us, so maybe not even we can break it, either.
That's a nice thing to think. I'd like to think that our invisible lace could hold us together forever. Maybe it can, if we're really still, or careful to move together.
I feel a tug on my stomach. My hungry, butterflied stomach. And I look down, only to see that my shirt has tightened around my body, which must mean that the lace has tightened around me, as well. Are you pulling?
Are you pulling me?
Or are you just trying to get away?
I find that I do not care and I step back, so that the lace no longer pulls on my belly.
And we are still together.



Written as part of the 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge, hosted by the wonderful @mariannewest. Do check her out ;)

Sort:  

You don't look when you think I'm seeing and I don't see you when you're not looking.

Very powerful, thank you for this, it made my evening better, this is an excellent read. Great of you to share it with us 💚

Thank you :) I'm glad you liked it.

5mins no way superstar!! It's got a start, a middle and an end and loads of words...unbelievable :-(

Ha, thanks, Nathen. I'm surprised, too. I usually write a bit slower, but when I've got the timer running, I keep glancing at it and push myself to hurry and get as many words in as I can.
don't worry, you get faster with time ;)

beautifully written and love where your story went <3

Thank you - I find that with freewrites I am able to let my mind wander and I get glimpses into my own subconscious sometimes. :)

Wow! I hear your ideas in my head as if this were a spoken word poem with a rhythm and emphasis on intentional words. Mmmmm mmmm!

Awwww thank you, @eyedreemit, that is such a nice compliment <3

Very good! I really enjoyed reading this one and thinking about the concept of hidden lace. Thanks. Here is the latest prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-119-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-fried-chicken

That's a nice thing to think. I'd like to think that our invisible lace could hold us together forever. Maybe it can, if we're really still, or careful to move together.

Wow. This is a FANTASTIC visual. What an awesome post!

Also, today I am helping the freewriters by delivering today’s prompt: Fried Chicken
@byn

Thank you, @byn, I really love doing these freewrites. Also, thanks for the prompt. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89