I waved. (freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Quick note: 'Te iubesc' is 'I love you' in Romanian. :)

I waved and you waved back.
Or at least, I thought you waved, but then I rubbed my eyes and saw there was nobody there. I'd learned by that time not to trust anything my eyes saw, that it was a trait of the unimaginative person to rely on the eyes for an accurate description of events.
But I waved anyway because the day I saw you, I felt as if none of that mattered, I felt as if you'd fly away and maybe take me with you. I'd love it if someone could take me with, yet nobody seems to have the space to see me, so I'm left here. I stand and I look through the portals and the empty eyes and the lackluster voids that fill my existence.
I always was a firm believer in maybes, though, and when I saw you appear in the window and open your eyes and heart I knew that maybe it was time for me to fly, too. But no, you weren't at the window, I just like imagining you at the window like I do all things now.
Because now, the only things I see are through the window, so it only seems natural you'd be there, too, because if you weren't, then you'd be nowhere. And I wouldn't want to live in a Universe where you are not and I am.
37857858_1760257914030002_8850480356286005248_n.jpg
I sometimes wave at your vision through the window, but you never wave back. Just like that day, that week, that second. You didn't wave then, either, and I tried to think that maybe you hadn't seen me. I didn't want to think your ignoring me was just a matter of breed. But it was.
I was never up to your level, or you didn't think I was and I hated you for it because I knew it was the other way around, really. I knew you were not of my breed. You were not up to my level and it made me so angry to fall so fast.
And so, I waved at you, hiding in the shadows behind the trees and I willed you into my light, I called you out into this big, crazy world where nobody saw me before because, for that one moment, I didn't think it mattered. If they saw me. It only mattered if you did and you did not.
You turned around and walked away and I watched you go. And I guess I never quite recovered, because even now, as I sit behind my window, as they feed me those pills that might get stuck in my throat, as I play with my grandchildren who visit me less and less it seems, as I count the peas in the plate they bring me, for lack of something better to do. Even now, as I wait for the hand of the Reaper to close around my puny shoulder, I'm still really just watching you go,
And I wish I could muster up the strength to wave at you again. To wave goodbye.

I've taken a break from freewriting, as I've been away. It certainly is good to be back, I've missed this little exercise. And I think my keyboard has missed me. It seems I was still in the same frame of mind as when I wrote this post earlier... Oh well, the prompt was 'breed'. Check out @mariannewest to join our freewriting community!

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Are you Romanian!? My best friend lives in Romania!

Indeed I am :) What a small world!

@honeydue In college, this friend taught me how to say "Would you like to have a coffee with me?" in Romanian because there was a Romanian girl in my English class I liked. All I remember is Cafea. She and I are still friends, though I haven't seen her in years.

It's 'Vrei sa bem o cafea?' or 'Iesi la o cafea cu mine?'
You know, just for the sake of remembering :D That is so cool :) I have a very good friend who's American :D And I taught her stuff in Romanian too..

I remember "cu mine", too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps the waving is a hello instead of a good-bye.

Hmm good point, I didn't think of that!

I am glad that you are back :)

Thank you, Marianne!

Life is a series of hellos and goodbyes. One of the saddest things is when you long to say hello but they have in fact said goodbye.

I'm waving hello to welcome you back to freewriteville, with a friendly smile! If you see me, perhaps you will wave back . :)

I see you, Kenny! Hi :)

I love the narrative flow in this. and the sombre mood. it's like an ending to a story with previous episodes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15