All the dead things (freewrite)

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

The thick clouds o smoke are wafting through the vents. I think. I can't really see them because it's so...cloudy. Or rather not cloudy, breezy, or...what's that word? I've forgotten the word I was looking for. Pity. It would've been nice to know it, even for a little while.

man-1519667_960_720.jpg
Image

The landlady told me we'd be fumigating today. She came round my flat last Tuesday. What a strange time to come by. Most inconvenient...But then, I wouldn't have liked her to come during Wednesdays either, because then I do my dominoes and it would've been...distracting. She can be like that – distracting. So I guess Tuesday was as good as any.
She complained that she had to rap on the door really hard before I opened. I tried telling her I had me headphones on, but she didn't seem to listen. She didn't seem to care, to be honest.
She just handed me the fumigation papers, and told me not to be inside when they happened. I had to sign the papers, you know, say that I was alright with the fumigating or whatever it was they called it.
The getting rid of all the dead things.
She said they smell and bother everyone, especially her. But they don't bother me, they never did. I watched them dying, only I didn't tell her that 'cause I knew she'd find me weird.
And I left, in the morning, at 9 o'clock, but then, while I was eating my sandwich, I remembered the papers, so I came back to the flat to look for them.

I can't see them now, from all the smoke. I guess I'll just sit in here, with all the dead things.


divorce-papers.jpg

Written for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge. Prompt word: fumigate.

Sort:  

Did not expect that ending @honeydue, brilliant twist!

Brilliant post

That was a crazy freewrite! Good job.

OMG! You signed divorce papers thinking they were fumigation papers? What a fantastic twist! Loved it! Tip!

Hi @honeydue! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Day 123: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday-Prompt: Fumigate. Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Ah yes, fumigation is like a divorce: you get rid of the dead things. Well done!

That was great, the twist at the end was unexpected, which I always like in these short stories..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48