A-jar (5 minute freewrite)

in #freewrite7 years ago

They say the glass is always half-full. I think mine is about three thirds empty most of the time. Moreover, I think mine's a jar, a big mason jar filled with dreams and ideas, you know the creative BS sort you see on Pinterest. That's what I imagine, anyways. How can it be full yet empty at the same time? Well, it's full in my mind.
Up there, it's always brimming with things left yet to do, with plans and ideas. But in actual fact, when I open my eyes and look at the jar, I see there's nothing in it. Well, too little to count and too far away for me to care.
mason-625728_960_720.jpg
Image

I don't know where the idea for a jar came from, must've been her. My wife – she always loved these craftsy things, she was always very skilled with her hands. I have an atticful of presents from when we were together. They're all very inventive, I assure you. I could never be inventive.
Or creative, with Internet help or without, I was hopeless when it came to cutesy shit. I don't think it would've mattered much in the first place, but you never know. It might've made her tick differently.
I suppose it doesn't matter now.
The jar was her final gift for me, and it wasn't even from her. I bought it myself, he day she left. It was something she said – that I always saw the jar half full, but it was an imaginary jar.
Well, now I have a jar. And I write what I've done on a little paper note and put it inside. But the imaginary jar remains in my head – full of the things I haven't.

Written for @mariannewest's 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge. I really encourage you to check her out - here.

Sort:  

the way we are so critical of ourselves and never think we did enough!!

you know the creative BS sort you see on Pinterest.

my favorite line!!

great story!!

Awww, such a beautiful piece. Is it a true story, or a really good piece of fiction?

Well, thank you. It's fiction ;) But all fiction is inspired by true events, I guess, so...

So true! Best stories always have a grain of truth. It's what connects people to them :)

I loved your post. Quite sad, though.

Thank you :)
It is, but most stories are.

Thank you :D

too bad she left...if I get your drift.
I had that happen to me once.
almost went insane with grief.

however...
my jar (imagination) is always brimming over.
If there's one thing that I CAN do...
is dream.

Well, I'm glad you didn't go insane. I think great pain can only come from great love, so maybe it's better to have both than none at all...

my jar (imagination) is always brimming over.
If there's one thing that I CAN do...
is dream.

You're a poet at heart, you know that?

You're a poet at heart, you know that?
That's crazy!

Wait...what?

er...I mean..

Here's the thing...I don't think it is ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47