You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Country-City Brain Drain - Freewrite Day 605 - Prompt: Moving to the City

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Beautiful piece.
I share your mixed-feelings about city life. I lived for 5 years in Normal-Bloomington and I dreaded the times we had to go to Chicago. I loved the city. I think it is one of the most beautiful cities in the States, but traffic drove me crazy.
I think you are right about the downside of small towns, although I can't complain about the college towns I lived in. I guess colleges (and all they bring) help.
You have a beautiful family. Blessings!

Sort:  

Thank you!
Yes, a small town that's also a college town is a step above the lonely burg on the prairie that has a Casey's convenience store and little else. In my parents' day (1950s), our tiny hometown had a bowling alley, two movie theaters, three grocery stores, a butcher/meat locker, a hatchery, a brick schoolhouse with grades K-12, the elevator, and more, but now it's down to the elevator. The school is empty. This is the fate of so many small towns. Hence, Brain Drain. And increasingly bigger cities, while towns dry up and blow away in the winds of time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49