A Guest in my Own House | Friday #FreeWrite Prompt

in #freewrite5 years ago

Fotoram.io(2).jpg
From personal files. Modified at Fotoram.io

Greetings, everyone

This is my entry to the #freewrite 5-minute exercise hosted by @mariannewest. See details here.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

A Guest in my Own House

I never liked Ben Franklin’s truism. Why would anyone in their right mind leave fish out of a freezer for three days? Similarly, why would anyone in their right mind stay as a visitor longer than three days? The fact of the matter is that it does happen, both things.

Worse yet, what happens when you have house guests who overstay long enough to supplant you as the host? What happens when those visitors are your own grandchildren and you become the stinky fish?

I got tired of being on the road from one child to the next because I can’t be in my own house. I gave birth to Judases, who in turn gave birth to Attilas, who burn every piece of land they step on. Nothing grows back up after they are done with their disrespect for authority, their laziness and their debauchery. My children are too busy living their lives. I already lived mine, they say. They can’t babysit me. Me, who babysat 8 of them, plus all their children! I lost count of how many Attilas I helped raise. Now I am responsible for their misdemeanors.

[End of 5 minutes]

Easier said than done. How can a grandmother discipline a child that’s being spoiled by their parents?

I am tired of being the “hot potatoe”. But I know how to end this. They can keep the house all they want. It will fall on them anyway.

I’ve always loved plants, since I was little. I can talk to them, they can hear me. Unlike my children, they do listen to me. They bloom and bear fruit when I give them the proper encouragement. They tell me what they are good for. I only need to touch them, rob their leaves on my fingertips and smell their properties. This one bush with yellow flowers is all I need. She told me to avoid her at any cost. She regrets she grew in my garden, but she told me she can’t control that. She, too, has a purpose. Whether it is to get rid of unwanted insects or unwanted guests.

I’ll brew myself just enough to end my journey and then everyone will be releases of their burden. Wasn’t it Ben Franklin who also said “Fear not death for the sooner we die, the longer we shall be immortal”?

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Source

Thanks for your visit


Logo Equipo Cardumen-reducido.png

Visítanos en: www.equipocardumen.com.ve

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I also love plants 💕💕💕☺🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for stopping by

@hlezama,

Hey Henrry.

"I gave birth to Judases, who in turn gave birth to Attilas."

That is the first line of a great novel. It achieves the same psychological effect as Tolstoy's first line in "Anna Karenina:"

"Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way."

The line is pregnant with possibility, suggestive of something intuitively familiar ... yet being sufficiently vague that it triggers speculation. It generates instant curiosity, a desire to learn more ... "What could possibly inspire such an insight?" I can ALMOST guess the answer, but not quite. Tantalizing.

And "debauchery" ... it's a damnably fine word however it is used.

This is the best freewrite I've seen on Steemit in almost two years.

Quill

Hey, Quill. So good to have you back. Hope life has treated you well all these months. I'm guessing your big girl has just started college!
Thanks for your generous comment. The freewrite team has managed to keep me busy with prompts that ring familiar bells every time. Unfortunatelly, I've had to skip once in a while.
I may miss a couple of days next week. Have to take my mother to a long trip across the country. She will stay at a sister of mine's. She is the protagonist of the story; I just tried to appropriate (as much as I hate the word, after its political connotation) her voice and magnified a possible result of the dramma she's living.
It's been tough.
But that's what life is supposed to be all about, right? Trials and tribulations to make us stronger. I swear I never read that in the freaking contract. I don't even remember signing one. How do we get subjected to so much crap?

Are you saying all this from your won personal experience or just telling a story, babysat 8 of your children. That's touching.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite.

Pick this, just one, write
Enjoy the five minutes run, dive
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-17-2019-single-prompt-option
....
A 3-1 prompt for the boss
Write, write, earn without flux
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-17-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a beautiful and blessed week ahead.

All stories are rooted in life experiences. Some more deeply than others, unfortunately.

I think we all hate long stay guests. :)

Sure. Especially if they mess up with the sanctity of the home

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60869.98
ETH 2713.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45