An Ancient Fleamarket

in #freewrite6 years ago

Beach fog sits on the ground and welcomes me to the morning. I'm holding my dad's hand. People bustle and it feels like an old bazaar. As I walk into the open air I feel excited. I usually want to look at knives, toys, bikes, or other treasures young boys love. My eyes dart and I want to run wild around the market, but I need to follow my dad.
57689895be515e39d66e7ac5070496a3.jpg

I still go to the same flea market in Santa Cruz. It gives me a huge feeling of nostalgia. Now I walk into the flea market holding my wife's hand and a warm coffee. The morning fog still hugs me hello and welcomes me to the bustle. I still look at the knives and bikes. Now I look at people more. So many interesting characters. The pirate playing guitar and selling gold and antiques. The hippy lounging in a chair selling beads he brought from Bali. The salesmen shouting, "Everythings A Dollar. Great Deals Here". The fruit stands.

It seems all of humanity comes together for a common purpose. There is a lot more going on than people selling their junk. People are living in a certain moment in time and everyone seems present. How could you not be? The sensory input is level 10. It's like a bustling Middle Eastern marketplace from Indiana Jones. Now, I go to watch the people.

Thank you @mariannewest for your 5 min Freewrite project. It is so fun.

In 3 Seconds You Could Help Me By Voting... Much Love, Brandon
Button_-_Vote_Happy_4_Witness_Show_Love.png

Sort:  

howdy sir happymoneyman! that photo does NOT look like California! what a fun place to go to though, I love that kind of thing and antique malls.
That's why I like hanging around in airports to, to watch people!
very interesting. thank you sir. I'm sorry I'm recharging my vote, one more day to 80%

Hey Janton, this is actually a picture I found when I googled "Indiana Jones Market". I have no idea where the pic is, but it reminded me of the feeling I get at fleamarkets. Santa Cruz is basically just a parking lot at an old drive in. hhaah
Cheers

howdy this fine evening sir happymoneyman! haha! oh ok well that makes sense, the actual flea market in Santa Cruz is not very photogenic but that one in the photo sure is!

Nostalgia is the word! That place has that magic of special things.
Much love back!

ahh nostalgia. one of my favorite feelings

Your post has been manually curated by the Many Voices Project. The MV Project exists to promote diversity and difference on the blockchain. If you would like to support our work and that of our Founder @sapphic Please consider voting for her witness via steemconnect

Looks fun. Find some treasures!!!

Ooh it looks cool

Looks great. I just wish that the old good days could come back again.

Always so nice to have you writing with us!! And I go to watch the people as well :)

interesting place to explore seems like everyone is there to find out something :)

I still go to the same flea market in Santa Cruz. It gives me a huge feeling of nostalgia. Now I walk into the flea market holding my wife's hand and a warm coffee.

Aww... How sweet is that. I love watching people too, we are just too interesting aren't we?

I truly enjoy reading what you have written, it makes me happy. :)

I am delivering the prompt to you.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-302-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-door-knob

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66