Freewrite Prompt: Mask

in #freewrite6 years ago

Continuing from yesterday's fiction freewrite on bulb:

Then she heard footsteps. They were getting closer, closer and CLOSER... Then, there was a knock on the door and some chuckles again!

"Darling, you may want to shut the window. I think a storm is coming!"

The bulbs flickered again.

Charlotte was having chills down her spine by then. This was nothing she expected of since coming to the city. Maybe it was just her imagination. Or is it?

"I didn't do anything wrong, whatever or whoever it is, it may leave me alone, " she tried to comfort her shaky heart. "Look, the landlady just shouted and asked me to close the windows. I will just go and check with her." With trembling hands, she turned the door knob open.

Eeeeeeek The door screeched. It startled Charlotte a bit. The whole stairway looked dimmer than before.

She walked all the way down to the kitchen to find the landlady. She was baking or cooking something in the oven. For whatever reason, she must had sprayed some fragrance around the place as the whole place now smelled like lavender. Maybe she did that to mask a stench because Charlotte could still smell something foul in the air that could not be missed and the landlady was wearing a facial mask and a mask while cooking. Who does that while cooking?

"Oh, I didn't see you coming," the landlady almost dropped her tray. "How was your first night?"

"Hi, Mrs. Bennett. I was just wondering if the bulbs flicker in the room I am in. Did you come knocking on my door earlier?" Charlotte tried to sound calm but wanted an explanation for the happenings.

"Yeah that was me. I wanted to remind you about the windows. A storm can be here any minute. Oooh the lights! We haven't had a tenant for some time, I bet the bulbs need some fixing. I will get Mr. Bennett to do it tomorrow and change new ones for you. Don't you worry, dear, " Mrs. Bennett smiled.

"Erm... I heard some children laughing. Do you have children yourself?"

Mrs. Bennett's face turned pale. She looked a bit ill for a moment but she quickly recollected herself. "Oh, that must have been from the neighbours. The children are rather loud, don't mind them!" she tried to just laugh it off. "Now, if you can excuse me, I gotta finish this up!"

Charlotte knew she had to go then. That night, she went to bed holding her cross, hoping nothing weird happen again.

image
Image Source


image.png

Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.

Sort:  

Nice conclusion! That wasn’t too scary! 😁

Hahah I have yet to decide if the story should end scary or not :P Thanks @crosheille! I am so not very good in writing this genre of stories too actually.

It was my pleasure to read. 😊

Kinda cultivating a low-key dread, nice.

Something fishy about Mrs. Bennett I could smell it. Can't wait for the next episode. Hehe

You may check out the next prompt and continue writing: describe your shoes

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Hahahaha oh no! How can I continue it with today's prompt? Brain dead...

Just while she thought she could sleep peacefully with the cross she saw shadows of movement at the slip of the door. But this time silence.

Who was that outside my room?

I tiptoed and scoop down to peek. And I saw something outside the room's door. Open the door and saw my shoes? How did my shoes ended up here? And what was that on my shoes? Blood or jam?


I thought of the above continuation. You can tweak so that not so spooky..

Aiyo, I saw this too late, else it would be a superb continuation. It makes more sense than the one I did :P

You really have a great mind, i like reading them.. i am already becoming charlotte's fan.. hahaha 😂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80